Blogmas Day 6: Walking in a winter wonderland…

fullsizerender

fullsizerender2

fullsizerender3

There’s frost outside, on the ground. And the air is nipping at my nose. Biting at it actually. My hands and lips are chapped. Big time. I should really remember to moisture at night.

But I couldn’t be happier. I love summer don’t get me wrong but I love wrapping up warm too, donning my coat, my hat, my scarf, my gloves and heading outside into the winter air. Sometimes if you sniff hard enough, you can actually smell Christmas, in all it’s cinnamon, clove-y, star anise goodness.

The other day my Mum and I went to our local woods to collect some foliage so that we could make a christmas wreath at some point in the near future. And it was so crisp outside, the leaves were covered in a fine dusting of jewelled ice. It looked like they were covered in icing sugar. And everything had a crisp snap and crunch to it underfoot; the auburn leaves and the broken off branches.

And once we’d walked our feet off and finished foraging for sprigs of holly, we headed home for an afternoon of crafting and watching Christmas films, eating mince pies with salted caramel ice-cream and intermittent naps in front of the fire.

And that afternoon, I had that lovely inner warmth that only comes from a hearty walk in the countryside, at this chilly time of year. It was ideal and certainly got me into a very festive frame of mind.

Watch this space for my Christmas Wreath.

Leave a Reply

