Blogmas Day 2: Enchanted Woodland at Syon Park

I love an enchanted forest or a woodland. Or whatever it is you want to call it.

I love colourful lights and trees and winter nights and I love walking around holding a hot drink in a take away cup; it makes me feel sophisticated and accomplished. Sad, but true.

So when I saw Syon Park’s enchanted woodland featured on Timeout, I thought, ‘You know what? I think I’ll do that!’ And so we did. Oli and I were planning to see our friends Ben and Sophia and so I thought this would be a great thing for us all to go to. Double date style.

img_6281

The tickets were only £9 a pop, which compared to Kew Gardens is an absolute steal. (I have to say, that Kew’s version is brilliant and well worth the money. I went a few years ago and it’s quite different to Syon Park).

So after a tasty roast, that I managed to time perfectly, we bundled into one car and hit the road. The drive to Syon Park took us the best part of forty minutes which was a tad annoying but it’s amazing how fast a journey can go when you’re chatting and listening to Michael Buble’s Christmas album.

img_6280

Our tickets scanned, we headed straight for the refreshment stand and got ourselves that hot drink to cradle in our palms as we admired the lights. I opted for a mulled wine, a seasonal and warming choice. I was also sporting my new Aldi matching bobble hat and large scarf, I was snug as a bug in a rug. Thanks Aldi!

The lights were lovely, with different colours and effects throughout the whole park. Some of them changed colours and some moved and flickered around the autumn leaf laden grass, it was the perfect way to end a good weekend; walking around in the chilly evening air, chatting with friends and gazing at pretty illuminations.

My favourite feature was the ultra violet light tunnel which was super fun and gave us all white glowing teeth.

img_6264

img_6265

img_6284

img_6274

Mulled wine finished, we ended the evening gazing at the colourful lights being projected onto the house and then found ourselves in a rave like atmosphere in the orangery complete with dry ice and banging tunes. It was brilliant and I’ve never seen anything quite like it. Dancing in your Wellington boots, a coat, a hat and a thick woolly scarf is a strange feeling. I think it beats being scantily clad. I certainly felt extra toasty afterwards.

img_6282

img_6278

If there’s an enchanted woodland or outdoor space near you that’s all lit up this December, than I say get yourself down there ASAP. Before all the tickets sell out. You won’t regret it, it really is great, festive fun! I couldn’t recommend it more.

Leave a Reply

