I missed my own blogging anniversaire because I’m trying to write a novel in a month…

My room is a complete mess at the moment. Or, at least it was, until I had a major clear out because I couldn’t stand it in here any longer. Even in sleep I was conscious of the mess around me. And the reason it’s been an absolute tip in here is because of one – admittedly, rather large – thing; NANOWRIMO.

Yes, National Novel Writing Month has slowly begun to take over my entire life. I’m enjoying it though, now that I’m getting into the swing of things. It’s day 9 today and things are taking shape, words are coming out of my brain, into my fingers and are finding themselves realised on the page. But at first, as in the first two days of November, I did not enjoy NANOWRIMO. Not one tiny bit. It felt difficult and time-consuming and I was forced to completely change my novel idea. I mean completely. I’ve abandoned almost a year and a half of work in the hope that this new tale, that hit me over the head last Tuesday, is going to be something great. But we’ll see.

For now I’m enjoying this novel-writing malarkey. Today, for example, I came home from work and some-crazy-how managed to write 3466 words. And I feel quite accomplished and uncharacteristically pleased with myself. So I decided to reward myself and here I am writing this. This is my treat. I miss my blog, I miss the act of blogging. But I’ve had to face up to the fact that, this month, this cold month of November, I have to divert all my attention to NANOWRIMO because I can’t do both, at least not properly anyway. And I have so very much I want to blog about. On the 31st of October, I got back from THE most AMAZING and flippin’ fantastic holiday with the best boy ever. We had the most hilarious and fun adventures in Feurteventura and I want to tell you all about it but alas it will have to wait! I also went to see Imagine Dragons at the O2 last week with Oli, and that was also utterly incredible. But I guess that will have to wait too.

So watch this space.

Oh and Happy Anniversary to this little blog of mine. It was three years ago this month that I started this little piece of la internet and I’m so glad I’m still going with it. Here’s to the next three years eh? (Here’s my first ever post if you fancy reading it.)

anniversaire

And if anyone needs me, I’ll mainly be writing a novel. Or drinking coffee. Or staring out of a window dreaming about the freedom of December.

Leave a Reply

