Week 40: The good, the bad and the unexpected (The caffeine edition)

Monday:

Monday 30th September 2013

Monday 30th September 2013

The Good

Meeting my lovely South African friend after work for an evening coffee. If I had my way I’d keep coffee shops and bookshops open until at least 10pm. Who needs a pub booth, when you can have a warm, chocolate leather armchair?

The Bad

Having a horrible day. Sometimes bosses are a little overbearing.

The Unexpected

Feeling absolutely drained so very early in the week.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 2nd October 2013

Tuesday 2nd October 2013

The Good

Another day another coffee. Coming in early and having skipped breakfast, I grabbed a bacon sandwich from Starbucks due to a special money saving deal. It was a great way to start the day, and after an hour and a half, I headed to our head offices, on the tube, for 3 hours of purchase order training. Man, it was dull, and despite the gorgeous IT guy, it was such a waste of time. My brain physically ached afterwards.

The Bad

Headaches are such awful things. And they make you drive without your lights on.

The Unexpected

I lost the ability to move like a human. Think sedated elephant, trying to do Zumba.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 1st October 2013

Wednesday 1st October 2013

The Good

Going to see the legend that is David Levithan read and talk at Piccadilly Waterstones, with my colleague. He was spectacular, what an amazing writer. I cannot wait to read Everyday. Inspired and in awe. If you haven’t read Lover’s Dictionary already, then do.

The Bad

Children on the bus. They should be banned. Or they should be made to ride in a trailer behind the bus. I’m such a grumpy old woman!

The Unexpected

Thanks to the absolute babe of a man who tapped me on the shoulder as he got up so I could slide into his seat before the school kids got it. Legend. Adults in cahoots against the youth of today.

Thursday:

Thursday 3rd October 2013

Thursday 3rd October 2013

The Good

The prospect of a free evening, being home on time and asleep before midnight.

The Bad

Having to call a taxi for the work experience girl to go to A&E, on account of some idiot child knocking her hot water flask all over her front, so that she burnt her chin and chest. It was awful! People on the tube are awful.

The Unexpected

Vanilla coke, because such goodness is always unexpected. My colleague looked at it dubiously (I’m not quite sure where she’s been for the past few years, claiming to have never seen vanilla coke before. Shocking really.) and asked, ‘What colour is it?’ I looked at her and said, ‘Oh it’s the same colour as normal coke, don’t let this pus colour fool you.’ Too far Rebecca, too far.

Friday:

Friday 4th October 2013

Friday 4th October 2013

The Good

Fish shop Scampi, chips and mushy peas with one of my best friends. Then gobbling down galaxy chocolate and sweets whilst watching Modern Family. The perfect treat after an insane week.

The Bad

Feeling incredibly full after the above feast. But I rose to the challenge and cleared my plate nonetheless.

The Unexpected

Enjoying Modern Family. It’s funny with the potential to be hilar.

Saturday:

Saturday 5th October 2013

Saturday 5th October 2013

The Good

Going back to my uni home to visit one of my best friends, Hannah. We had an absolutely splendid time, chatting, eating a lunch of croque monsieurs in Boho, followed by a meandering walk around West Gate Gardens and the city as a whole, then a spot of shopping. We finished the day off with a tasty belgian chocolate waffle in the new Chocolate Cafe, trying not to be sick as we witnessed a full on coffee shop PDA. I made a rather loud protest and the couple momentarily stopped…for breath and then carried on. Gross. But anyway, it was one of the best days I’ve had in a long time, with one of those friends you pick up exactly where you left off.

The Bad

The fact that Cathedral Starbucks, my old haunt, is now closed down. I am heartbroken. Literally. I wouldn’t like to know how much money I spent in Starbucks whilst I was at Uni.

The Unexpected

Being served by one of my coursemates at Boho. Slightly awkward. Oh and not feeling as heart wrenching sad as I expected to feel on returning to the city of a thousand dreams and heartbreaks.

Sunday:

Sunday 6th October 2013

Sunday 6th October 2013

The Good

After church, I rejoined my family and we headed out to Polesden Lacey, for their Autumn Food Fair. It was such gorgeous weather, that it was hard to believe it was October really. We had a lovely time, perusing the second hand bookshop (I bought Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, hardback for two small pounds) and ran on the grass with Sophie. She loved it and nothing makes me happier than hearing her laugh.

The Bad

A pooey smell in the cafe. It put us right of our tea.

The Unexpected

The above. My Mum and Dad’s friends came down on Saturday and they bought the worlds best homemade millionaire shortbread known to man, with them. This is the stuff of my childhood, and takes me right back to their Horsham cottage, my small, rubbery hands clasped round a tankard of tea, my teeth buried in thick sweet, buttery caramel. Needless to say we devoured the lost, piece by delicious, gooey piece.

Leave a Reply

