Week 39: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 23rd September 2013

Monday 23rd September 2013

The Good 

Getting to see the glorious shard due to a diversion.

The Bad

A busy, busy day. The Autumn period is c-r-a-z-y in publishing.

The Unexpected

My 18:05 train was cancelled. Which meant I had to catch the train to London Bridge to get home, which also meant getting the train that ends in Orpington. I remembered that the gorgeous chap I met yesterday at church gets the train home everyday to Orpington about this time, and since I hadn’t been able to get him out of my head all day long, it made sense that I should catch sight of him rushing to the train. Yup, he’s handsome alright, I wonder if we’ll ever meet again?

Tuesday:

Tuesday 24th September 2013

Tuesday 24th September 2013

The Good 

Dancing in my new, it’s-like-walking-on-air trainers at Zumba.

The Bad

Exercise. And being a sweaty mess after so long of not zumba-ing.

The Unexpected

A delightful walk to the station thanks to One Republic and the amazing Counting Stars. ‘Old, but I’m not that old, young, but I’m not that bold…’ Tuneeeeeeee!

Wednesday:

Wednesday 25th September 2013

Wednesday 25th September 2013

The Good 

Meeting up with one of the old work experience girls again and chat-chat-chatting about books, books and more books.

The Bad

Sorry Costa, you may pay tax but you’re no Starbucks. I sold my soul to the green merwoman over four years ago now.

The Unexpected

Having a lovely time at the Barrel and Horn pub with my church cell group. I straightened my hair and had my best dress on  with the hope that the boy I met would be there as my friend said she’d invite him along. Only she didn’t. So he wasn’t there. My straight hair and eyeliner was wasted so I drowned my sorrows in pear cider and guffawed at this hilarious video about German words. I love Germans and I honestly think that they have the best language in the world. Maybe I’ll marry a nice german lad one day!

Thursday:

Thursday 27th September 2013

Thursday 27th September 2013

The Good 

Happy birthday to one of my best uni friends!

The Bad

Forgetting to send her card. Whoops!

The Unexpected

The joy that is a lunchtime shopping trip. New Look have snazzy changing rooms now.

Friday:

Friday 27th September 2013

Friday 27th September 2013

The Good 

A meeting at work that meant there was a lunch buffet. We’re talking a sausage plate/Wellington which was divine and as much fresh bread as you could shake a stick at and the best apples I’ve ever eaten. Oh and lots and lots of cheese.

The Bad

Not really getting much work done. At all. I spent most of the morning buying my colleagues leaving present in Forbidden Planet (I never did like sci-fi) and then purchasing snacks for his leaving drinks. Oh and then my afternoon? Yeah well that was spent putting wine, beer, elderflower presse and sparkling water in the fridge and sorting out the boardroom. By the time I came back upstairs to finish up my work it was about quarter to seven, the glass of wine and beer I’d had made me too giggly to concentrate and the crowd of young and sehr merry coworkers around me, trying to help me get my done so we could go to the pub, didn’t help. Oh well, there’s always monday.

The Unexpected

Having a hilarious evening at my colleagues leaving drinks. And discovering after having paid for a drink that the company had paid for a tab. Damn it! Getting to know people better, and laughing like a small child is always ideal.

Saturday:

Saturday 28th September 2013

Saturday 28th September 2013

The Good 

Meeting up with my lovely friend from church, sharing a cake in Patisserie Valerie and getting the chance to unload all my struggles that come hand in hand with being a) single and b) a christian. Just knowing that someone shares my pain helped as did the new pair of pretty converse I purchased. Oh and going to a 30th birthday party, in a greek restaurant made for a delightful evening. Delish!

The Bad

Being unable to find a decent pair of workish shoes anywhere. I could have cried for the frustration.

The Unexpected

Ending up in Clarks for the third time that day. And leaving with 3 pairs of shoes. Comfy, leather and stylish. I was happy, even if I couldn’t walk for shoe boxes.

Sunday:

Sunday 29th September 2013

Sunday 29th September 2013

The Good 

A church lunch, with the younger members of the congregation. There’s been a sudden influx recently of 20s.

The Bad

The weekend going by far too quickly. Oh and not seeing church boy, what a let down.

The Unexpected

Going to church in the evening with the hope of finding church boy on account of it being a joint congregation service. I didn’t find church boy but I found God, and that’s got to be better.

Leave a Reply

