Week 38: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 16th September 2013

Monday 16th September 2013

The Good

The above. Treating myself to a gorgeous swedish pastry on a cold and wet September morning.

The Bad

Feeling guilty for not looking after Gray C better. I’ve been too busy being busy to stop and give my pet bunny some attention. So I’m making her a cardboard castle and vowing to appreciate the fluffy life that makes my life that bit more interesting.

The Unexpected

It honestly felt like the middle of November today. I’d better invest in a coat.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 17th September 2013

Tuesday 17th September 2013

The Good

Finding out that for today only I could get £1 off a latte at Starbucks by using contactless payment. A venti hazelnut latte for lunch it was. Enjoyed with the delights of Edward Rutherfurd’s Paris. Such a fantastic book.

The Bad

Getting soaked in the rain. With no coat. And no umbrella. Winter is well and truly here.

The Unexpected

Wearing my knickers inside out all day. You’d would have thought I was half asleep when I got dressed.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 18th September 2013

Wednesday 18th September 2013

The Good

Going for lunch with my friend from work. To abokado my new favourite place. I love their salmon and avocado sushi wrap, mmmhmmm!

The Bad

People playing music outloud on public transport. That is not a thing people. It’s really not. Stop immediately or buy some headphones.

The Unexpected

Rabbits absolutely love cardboard boxes, Gray C now has her very own little corner in my room and she adores it. Although I fear there won’t be much left of it by the time she’s finished chewing it all up.

Thursday:

Thursday 19th September 2013

Thursday 19th September 2013

The Good

Getting along swimmingly with the current work experience girl, its like having a new friend every few weeks.

The Bad

Deciding to go shopping for boots after work. It was a disaster, I mean an absolute disaster. In the end I just bought a pair to say I had. I took them back the next day but I couldn’t return home empty handed. It was cold and damp and I cried on the train. It’s really hard being a girl sometimes.

The Unexpected

The bus, my bus, cancelling itself. Helpful.

Friday:

Friday 20th September 2013

Friday 20th September 2013

The Good

An empty train, catching the later one and still being on time. I didn’t fancy racing to the station today. After work drinks for a colleague who is leaving and bonding with my work friends was an enjoyable way to spend the eve.

The Bad

Coming home to three rashers of bacon for tea. So that’s what happens when you don’t inform your parents of your after work movements.

The Unexpected

Meeting one of the old work experiences for coffee during our lunch break, it was really nice. Once I found where we were meant to be meeting. My sense of direction is appalling.

Saturday:

Saturday 21st September 2013

Saturday 21st September 2013

The Good

A day split into three delightful segments. I love saturdays like this, full of lots of little plans. I got up early, courtesy of having stomach cramps so I couldn’t sleep. Showered, ate breakfast, hopped on the bus and shopped til I dropped. Literally, so many heavy bags. Then I came home in time for a late lunch and went to a farm with my Dad and adorable little niece, where we fed and petted the animals until our hearts were content. When I got home I had about 2 hours before I needed to head out for my friends birthday dinner, which I walked to, nice bit of exercise. Especially as I devoured a burger as big as my face. I laughed a lot as usual, sipped some cocktails and had a scrummy pear cider nightcap in the pub opposite. It was such a fantastic day, action packed and full to the brim in the best kind of way.

The Bad

Developing a headache and not being able to sleep. Maybe because I was catching up with vine.

The Unexpected

I found some gorgeous boots. Finally. The shop assistant was really helpful and friendly and I stood in my new boots chatting to her for quite a while. So long that they felt like they were 100% mine. Then when I decided to purchase them she said; ‘I’ll see if I can get you 10% off. I’m feeling generous today.’ So my £75 leather biker boots were £67! Ideal. I was so happy!

Sunday:

Sunday 22nd September 2013

Sunday 22nd September 2013

The Good

Going back to church and feeling happy to be there for the first time in a long time. Watching two baptisms and remembering mine and just why I did it. Realising that God does love me and I need to start trusting him again, with my whole life. Philippa Hanna, a christian singer who toured with Lionel Richie, sang and spoke at the service. She was fantastic, so I bought her CD and book, something to help me along in the winter weeks. Spending the afternoon being silly with my nieceykins was the icing on the cake.

The Bad

Not wanting to get up. Being very close to not bothering to go to church at all. And if I hadn’t gone then I wouldn’t have felt better and closer to God.

The Unexpected

I also wouldn’t have met a rather nice young man. Same age, same year of graduation, same work location. Thank goodness for being on Welcome this morning, as it gave me the boldness to chat to him. And what a lovely chat we had. Who knows what this could lead to, it could be absolutely nothing, it could be everything. But it’s out of my hands, I don’t have to fret, or worry because I trust that wherever he is, whoever he is, he’s on his way. With God’s help we’re on our way to each other. And I refuse to let my silly brain carry me far, far away from the here and the now. One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

