Week 37: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 9th September 2013

Monday 9th September 2013

The Good

Making it to the Shakespeare and Company Gatsby celebration despite the pouring rain. And it was amazing. I cannot wait to read Sarah Churchwell’s Careless People now, she read some great snippets from her book and it sounded incredible. Afterwards they handed out free gin based twenties style cocktails and a jazz band began to play. And I went off to go and meet Sarah Churchwell, Fitzgerald extraordinaire and got my copy of ‘Tender is the Night’ signed. We had a nice little chat and I explained that I had the book at home and that I got it as a gift from my marketing colleagues; she was really lovely. Then afterwards I treated the parentals to a McDonald’s toffee sundae, which may sound incredibly cheap but as a matter of fact Maccy D sundaes in Paris are quite delicious. They serve the ice cream with hot toffee sauce and chopped peanuts, so much better than at home. Yummy!

The Bad

Ok, so today was a let down. After the weekend’s glorious weather, a storm cloud blew over and the rain set in. Heavy, persistent, not-shifting-anytime-soon kind of rain. And we’d all packed for a sunny break, we just weren’t equipped for this kind of dreary weather. And I refused to wear my anorak. There was no way we could go out in it, it wasn’t showing any signs of stopping, in fact as the morning progressed the rain just kept coming, on and on, wetter and wetter. So we stayed in, huddled in our caravan, duvets around us, clutching our books and playing an intermittent game of cards. We eventually braved the wet in search of a supermarche for a cupboard restock and some luncheon. I spent the whole day with baited breath really, hoping and praying that the rain would stop so we could do to the Gatsby celebration at the Shakespeare and Company Bookshop.

The Unexpected

The train. It would appear that when you want to get somewhere via public transport during rush hour in Paris, it takes a long time. I thought we were never going to get to my book event but we did, just in the nick of time.

Tuesday:

IMG_6551[1]

Tuesday 10th September 2013

The Good

Today we started off at an Opera House, soaking in the music as a man played at piano in the middle of the square outside. Then we spent the morning looking for the Rue de la Rivoli, one of the most famous streets in Paris, a commercial street full of some of the most fashionable names. It’s also adjacent to the beautiful Jardin des Tuileries which I got to enjoy again. When we finally found it we wandered along it, in search of some kind of Patisserie but couldn’t seem to find one anywhere. Infact most of this day was made up of wandering, along Parisian streets, catching glimpses of the Eiffel Tower as we bobbed along the pavements. When it got too much and the rain was about to make another spectacular appearance, we found a Paul. We ducked in there for a hot beverage and a sweet french delicacy. I settled for a hot chocolate and a blackcurrant macaroon. It was tasty! The rest of the afternoon was spent wandering around the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, looking in tacky souvenir shops, gazing up at the Eiffel Tower and getting splashed by the fountains behind it. It was a beautiful evening and the perfect time to say ‘Goodbye for now’ to my very favourite city.

The Bad

The hot chocolate at Paul was literally melted dark chocolate in a cup. I wasn’t a fan, I like my hot chocolates hot, creamy and sweet. Not bitter and sludgy.

The Unexpected

Not finding a unique patisserie. Where are they all? I can get Paul’s at home. Disappointing. But my macaroon was top notch.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 11th September 2013

Wednesday 11th September 2013

The Good

Having a quiet last day at the campsite in Maison Lafitte. Playing ping pong or wiff waff in the freezing cold with my mum, having a walk along the canal and the pretty town. We discovered an amazing toy shop and bought Sophie lots of wooden toys for Christmas and we stopped for more macaroons and a coffee, before heading to the local supermarche to get some scallops and prawns for a big fish supper this evening. It was such a chilled and relaxing day, defo needed after four days of intense city wandering.

The Bad

The prospect of going home, back to work, back to normality. Away from the gorgeous campsite man, Marc.

The Unexpected

Having a lovely long chat with Marc and another sehr gut looking campsite boy. I think I’m in love. Should I leave him my number?

Thursday:

Thursday 12th September 2013

Thursday 12th September 2013

The Good

A tasty meal of muscles and chips at Cafe Rouge when we got back home. How very french, it was nice to carry on with the theme.

The Bad

Having to leave and not seeing Marc’s gorgeous face before I left. I didn’t leave my number,  but I left my surname, a big bag of carambars, a six pack of beer and a note of thanks.

The Unexpected

Getting home so early. Ideal, good night sleep ahoy.

Friday:

Friday 13th September 2013

Friday 13th September 2013

The Good

Meeting my friends after work for a ‘teeny tiny drink’ that turned into a burger. And a beer. And another beer.

The Bad

The rain, seriously I don’t know if it’s wetter here or in Paris. And having to run for my train, but despite nearly drowning I made it, in one piece. So I guess that’s not so bad.

The Unexpected

Enjoying being back at work. It may have been a crazy day but it felt good to be appreciated and welcomed back. My boss actually said the words; ‘Oh it’s so nice to have you back!’ I hope this wasn’t sarcasm, I mean I was handing her an invoice at the time. But it felt genuine.

Saturday:

Saturday 14th September 2013

Saturday 14th September 2013

The Good

Taking a fourteen year old (the same one who I went to One Direction O2 concert with) to see One Directions film – or documentary I suppose – This Is Us. We had a delicious hot chocolate at Cafe Nero before and it was honestly the best hot chocolate I’ve had in a long time. Especially compared to my one from Paul. The film was good and full to the brim with One Direction eye candy, my they are handsome, especially that Louis Tomlinson.

The Bad

The tram. I detest it, I swear only the scum of the earth travel on it. When I finally got off, I witnessed a group of young teenage boys pelt a about 3 teenage girls with spit balls. This is disgusting and appalling if you know each other, but these boys didn’t know these girls at all and yet they viciously attacked them. They were ‘effing’ and ‘blinding’ at them, I’ve never been so horrified. What has happened to good behaviour. Is chivalry dead? Are there any gentlemen left?

The Unexpected

Having a shopping spree in Wimbledon’s H&M, I got a few gems. And by a few, I mean two bags full.

Sunday:

Sunday 15th September 2013

Sunday 15th September 2013

The Good

Clearing out my wardrobe of all my old clothes, that I’ve been hanging onto for too long. I just need to throw things away, so I did. Out with the old and in with the new, that’s what the remainder of this year is about.

The Bad

Not going to church. I really don’t know what to do about the lack of good church in the vague area of where I currently reside.

The Unexpected

Having a hilarious afternoon with little Sophie, who’s not so little anymore. It’s amazing how much she has grown up, she now does a moody little scowl/pout and spent the afternoon, sitting on a miniature chair.

Leave a Reply

