Week 35: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 26th August 2013

Monday 26th August 2013

The Good

It’s my gorgeous niece’s (little Soph) first birthday today! So despite being exhausted from getting back from Spain in the early hours of the morning, we all went up to london for a lovely day in the bank holiday sun.

The Bad

Wedding disasters. With just a week to go, we discovered that there would be no road access to the wedding venue due to the roads being resurfaced. My Dad was onto the council like a dog with a bone. He got quite worked up and who could blame him, cancelling would mean losing a hell of a lot of money. His despair only grew when we went to get a beverage from the restaurant in St James’ park. There we were innocently queuing for a hot beverage when he spotted a chef putting a spoon in his mouth and then using that germ-ridden spoon to plate up customers food. That is most definitely not a thing.  And my Dad wasn’t having any of it. Out came the warrant card and a threat to ‘close this place down’. I cannot take him anywhere.

The Unexpected

We were all meant to go to the aquarium but the queue was just too long so we left Lucy, Henry and Sophie to face it. While myself and the rents walked to St James Park and enjoyed a cup of tea, sat on a deck chair. Ideal.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 27th August 2013

Tuesday 27th August 2013

The Good

Knowing that I only have to work two and a half days this week filled me with pure unadulterated joy.

The Bad

Going to my sister’s wedding rehearsal and coming out none the wiser about what I need to do on the actual day.

The Unexpected

My Dad’s work colleague staying over at our house. He’s the photographer for the wedding and a lovely chap at that.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 28th August 2013

Wednesday 28th August 2013

The Good

A big mound of papers to get through at work. Not too gruelling a task at all.

The Bad

Feeling exhausted and I’d only been back at work a day. Oh what a holiday does to you!

The Unexpected

Spending the evening putting Percy Pigs and crayons (not together of course) into empty glass pesto jars, to keep the younger wedding guests amused.

Thursday:

Thursday 29th August 2013

Thursday 29th August 2013

The Good

Having a half day, handing over to my cover and leaving bang on time to get a mani-pedi for a certain marriage tomorrow. Then chauffeuring my Sister around for various last minute bridal tasks like getting her eyelashes done. Then coming home to wine and mac&cheese (what a combo) and sitting down together as family, as four people who share the same last name for one last time to watch Father of the Bride.

The Bad

Having a horrible headache. It must be nerves.

The Unexpected

Having a sister sleepover, squished together in my humble double bed, not a cross word uttered, not one disagreement. Just excitement and talk of the amazing day about to dawn.

Friday:

Friday 30th August 2013

Friday 30th August 2013

The Good

My Sister’s wedding. It really was the most b-e-a-u-tiful day. I’m a very proud sister indeed.

The Bad

Getting to bed at 2:45am. It was a wild and brilliant night.

The Unexpected

Picking up where I left off with my cousins. It felt like no time had passed all, we had a whale of a time! A day filled with family and friends!

Saturday:

Saturday 31st August 2013

Saturday 31st August 2013

The Good

Watching Henry and Lucy open their many wedding presents and cards in the late morning. And being overwhelmed and amazed by the incredible generosity of the people we know.

The Bad

Having a horrible headache again and feeling really tired all day. I guess weddings take their toll.

The Unexpected

Frantically searching the house for Lucy’s purse. My Mum had put it ‘somewhere safe’ in case we got burgled during the wedding (I know). Eventually after much shouting and stressing she located it in a wardrobe, so the newlyweds could finally set off on their honeymoon.

Sunday:

Sunday 1st September 2013

Sunday 1st September 2013

The Good

Having little Soph with us. We went to the park and decided to get some ice creams. One for me. One for Dad. One for Mum. And the lovely ice cream lady gave us a cone with ‘just a touch’ of ice cream in it for Sophie. Completely free of charge, how nice of her! And Sophie was very, very grateful indeed. She does love an ice cream.

The Bad

Church. It’s time to devote myself to finding a new one.

The Unexpected

My parents, well my mum really. I came back from church, feeling a little low and there was my mother with a card and a present for me as I walked through the door. Because they know that this wedding has been hard for me, as happy as I am for both Henry and Lucy, they know that I want to find love more than anything else in the world.

Leave a Reply

