Week 34: The good, the bad and the unexpected – THE HOLIDAY EDITION

Monday:

Monday 19th August 2013

Monday 19th August 2013

Monday 19th August 2013

Monday 19th August 2013

Monday 19th August 2013

Monday 19th August 2013

The Good

We arrived on Sunday at our villa mid afternoon to a hearty and warm welcome from the couple who own it. They showed us around and after chatting about the events in Sitges this week, we were eventually left to our own devices. An afternoon full of sunbathing and an evening devoted to eating paella and sipping Sangria followed, and despite the crappy restaurant it felt good to be away from the chaos of home.

On Monday, waking up to a piping hot day was very welcome indeed. But instead of heading for the pool we wandered down to the local(ish) supermarche for supplies. On Sunday night we’d formulated a list of all the edible goods and alcoholic beverages we would need for the week, we had a lot of food, 4 trolleys full to be precise!

After catching some rays and trying to get into Tender is the Night and failing miserably, we had a lovely BBQ for tea (top-notch burgers!) and an eventful evening playing 21, crazy times!

The Bad

The panic I endured in the supermarket as we watched the cashier cash up the many items on the conveyor belt. They just kept coming, melon after melon, beer after beer, loaf after loaf. Thankfully it came to £203 (if I remember correctly) which was an absolute bargain, considering it was for seven hungry people.

The Unexpected

I think the most unexpected thing actually occurred on the Sunday, although it was so late it could have actually been the early hours of monday. Anyway, after struggling to stay awake during the shopping list composition, I took myself inside and lay down on the sofa, a half-finished cup of tea in my sleepy hands. I must have drifted off temporarily to the land of nod, because I was abruptly and cruelly awoken. I can’t remember whether I screamed (probably) but I do remember throwing the tea I’d been cradling, into the air so that it soaked the white sofa cushion. In retrospect it was sehr comical, despite feeling ‘all shakey’ afterwards.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 20th August 2013

Tuesday 20th August 2013

Tuesday 20th August 2013

Tuesday 20th August 2013

Tuesday 20th April 2013

Tuesday 20th April 2013

Tuesday 20th August 2013

Tuesday 20th August 2013

The Good

A hot croissant for breakfast and a spontaneous trip to the beach. There is nothing like a swim in the deep blue sea, beats a chlorine filled pool any day. It’s just the sand that ruins everything. Then a lovely stroll into Sitges, the nearest Spanish town to us. We stopped at a beach bar/cafe for a refreshing coca cola and a delicious ice cream. Sehr lecker!

The Bad

My bites. The Mosquitoes had already laid into me, leaving my legs looking like salami. Or various areolas, as my delightful friends pointed out.

The Unexpected

I saw a dead fish on the ground, so naturally I stopped to take a photo of it. But my friend, James, kicked it at my foot. After recovering from the fright, I bent down and picked up the stiff fish up by it’s tail. Then proceeded to stalk James with it; ‘She’s literally walking along the road with a fish!’ Priceless.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 21st August 2013

Wednesday 21st August 2013

Wednesday 21st August 2013

Wednesday 21st August 2013

Wednesday 21st August 2013

Wednesday 21st August 2013

The Good

Going to the beach for a second time; when in Spain eh?! This time as well as swimming, we played bat and ball in the waves, trying desperately not to fall over but falling all the same. I wasn’t very good at all, you’d have a better chance at maintaining a rally with a seahorse than with me. We then had a crisp feast after our frolick in the waves but soon the heat got to be too much and we headed back to the villa in dribs and drabs. When I got back, I jumped straight into the pool, sand and all. I don’t know how the Spanish do it.

We headed into town that evening for dinner, settling for somewhere with misleading pictures of food. I was disappointed with my dinner but the ice cream parlour afterwards made up for it. As did the street vendor I purchased a rocket-launcher-light-thingy from. He was such a babe, teaching me how to release the three euro contraption (which I bartered down from five) into the air effectively. It was three euros well spent.

The Bad

Sand. Everywhere. And I mean everywhere.

The Unexpected

There was lots of drama on the beach. An old man had some kind of funny turn – I thought it was his heart from what I could see – so there were lifeguards and paramedics coming from all angles. Then to add to the entertainment a woman collapsed from apparent heat stroke. We were literally watching a live episode of Sun, Sea and A&E.

 Thursday:

Thursday 22nd August 2013

Thursday 22nd August 2013

Thursday 22nd August 2013

Thursday 22nd August 2013

Thursday 22nd August 2013

Thursday 22nd August 2013

The Good

BARCELONA!! Today we headed into this very hot city, full of Gaudi buildings. I liked it, but as cities go it wasn’t my favourite. I guess Paris and Rome are pretty hard to beat. But I loved seeing the architecture and soaking in the city vibes and the lunch we had was absolutely delicious, I’m talking top-notch seafood paella and free Cava, in a lovely air-conditioned restaurant. Ideal.

The Bad

Scratching my sunglasses, I was very annoyed about that. But my new hard shell sunglasses case for a mere three euros cheered me up.

The Unexpected

Finding out that the Cathedral in Barcelona isn’t even finished yet. Not remotely. Shocking, they need to pick up the pace.

 Friday:

Friday 23rd August 2013

Friday 23rd August 2013

Friday 23rd August 2013

Friday 23rd August 2013

Friday 23rd August 2013

Friday 23rd August 2013

The Good

A relaxing day by the pool, getting stuck into Tigers in Red Weather and eating about ten ice lollies; after my three breakfasts. In the evening we headed out to the Marina for a fishy feast. I went for a whole brown crab which was hard work to eat, especially with a captive audience but worth all the hard graft. Then we headed further into town to catch the firework display which seemed never-ending. Unable to make an efficient group decision I headed further still into town, with one other team member, to face the festival atmosphere of Sitges. We watched people dance and simultaneously yell at the youth, whilst these puppets with giant heads paraded down the promenade. It was mental there, so many young and old people, in pub crawl style t-shirts and traditional dress. The old and the new, the locals and the tourists. After dancing, eating ice cream and churros and walking towards a mirage of a hotel, we hopped into a taxi and drove home to bed.

The Bad

Feeling a bit sick. Note to self don’t eat a whole crab and your body weight in ice cream whilst sporting a waist belt.

The Unexpected

Whilst waiting for a taxi, a German man approached me. He tried to ask me various questions in an array of languages, apart from English, hoping to make some sense to me. I kept shaking my head saying, ‘Sorry I’m english’ and once I’d apologised for my nationality a good five times, he patted me on the head and went on his merry way. Turns out he was after a lighter.

 Saturday:

Saturday 24th August 2013

Saturday 24th August 2013

Saturday 24th August 2013

Saturday 24th August 2013

Saturday 24th August 2013

Saturday 24th August 2013

The Good

After a full day by the pool and another mouth-watering BBQ, it was time to get on it. Out on the town was the plan for tonight and what a night/morning we had. I have never had so much fun, excluding the gratuitous groping from Spanish lads that is, cut it out boys, seriously. We kicked the night off with drinking games a plenty at our villa, then when the clock struck 12, we bundled into taxis in search of a good time. First off, we danced in a marquee/outside bar appropriately named Picnic, to Spanish music infused with the odd English or American hit, i.e Mr Robin Thicke’s, Blurred Lines. Then it started to rain which made it even more hilarious. As the thick hot drops of rain descended we ran to the main strip, after asking a paramedic for directions. But the rain got too heavy and we were forced to take shelter, my white dress growing more transparent by the second. Bored of sheltering we eventually settled on a bar, where we danced, drank and limboed the night away, on a hot and very cramped dance floor; with wandering-male-hands a plenty. Eventually enough was enough, too sweaty and bothered to take anymore we sat outside with some ice-cold beverages, attracting many unsavoury characters, including a man selling roses, another man wearing 38 hats, a camp, drunk teen and an angry Italian. It was certainly a night to remember, so much fun!

The Bad

Our final full day. This holiday has gone far too quickly. And the weather has started to deteriorate.

The Unexpected

Paying four euros for a Fanta lemon. Absolute joke.

 Sunday:

Sunday 25th August 2013

Sunday 25th August 2013

Sunday 25th August 2013

Sunday 25th August 2013

The Good

Getting to the airport on time, all together. Then reminiscing about the best bits of our holiday, over an airport dinner.

The Bad

The fact that it was home time and the lack of McDonald’s at Barcelona airport. Pans and company are no substitute. Also when we landed in Gatwick I may as well have been deaf; aeroplanes always wreak havoc on my ears.

The Unexpected

Buying what I thought was water for the flight, only to discover that it was actually lemon squash. Downloading the joy that is snapshot.

Leave a Reply

