Week 33: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 12th August 2013

Monday 12th August 2013

The Good

Finding solace in Starter for Ten. Couldn’t have put it better myself.

The Bad

Coming home after a long swim only to discover more wedding drama. Why is life never straightforward? My sister’s fiance’s so-called friend, who offered to film my sister’s wedding, announced –  with 2 weeks to go – that he no longer wants to film the day anymore. Instead he wants to ‘relax’ and enjoy himself. Yeah, more like get drunk. Asshole.

The Unexpected

A man on the train was watching a BBC documentary with no headphones. I could hear every, single word. So unsociable.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 13th August 2013

Tuesday 13th August 2013

The Good

Meeting my friend for dinner after work. Nothing like a chinese after a hard day at the grindstone.

The Bad

The rain. It should be forbidden in August.

The Unexpected

Discovering that the name Sophie is in the top 10 girls names of 2013.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 14th August 2013

Wednesday 14th August 2013

The Good

The earth and it’s ability to catch you off guard with a breathtaking sunset. And its man made beauty too, like the joy shopping in Waterstones for your niece’s birthday present can give you.

The Bad

Getting out of work late. Again. Which set everything out of kilter. So that, what some call Fate, and others call Coincidence intervened. Because there I was walking to the station, later than I normally would have, my journey home prolonged because I had to go back for the book I’d left on my desk. And it was this momentary lapse of awareness, this forgetfulness, this absentminded funk that I’ve adopted as of late, that ensured I bumped into someone I never expected to bump into. Someone who makes my heart ache in my chest, someone whose gorgeous, rough-around-the-edges face has the power to turn my legs to blancmange. And as all the old memories seeped in, capsizing my right and sane mind, my eyes floundered, catching on the sleeve of his girlfriend and all the hurt started writhing again, resuscitated right then and there. And I uttered a brisk, faux-jovial ‘Hello, fancy seeing you here!’ and hurried off, my left lung punctured and my heart bleeding.

He’s the finest player I know.

The Unexpected

An answer in the affirmative from the Bluebird. My secret Made in Chelsea themed Hen do for my sister this saturday is a definite go go. Whoop!

Thursday:

Thursday 15th August 2013

Thursday 15th August 2013

The Good

Having a lovely lunch with my fav colleague who is leaving on friday; very sad times indeed. But nevertheless we had a lovely time chatting away and enjoying our Sushi together. Oh and my old housemate came round for a big fat cup of tea and a birthday present exchange. She bought me the best PJ’s ever, nothing like crawling into a fresh pair.

The Bad

Hearing about the perils of internet dating. It’s a dangerous and incredibly creepy world out there. I won’t be diving in anytime soon.

The Unexpected

Chatting away until midnight, imma be sleeping in the morning.

Friday:

Friday 16th August 2013

Friday 16th August 2013

The Good

Finally being free of work. The prospect of a week off in the hot Spanish sun was almost too much to comprehend!

The Bad

Many things. Saying goodbye to a colleague I really enjoy working with, sniff 😥 Feeling incredibly stressed, tying up all my loose ends before fleeing the country for the week. Leaving at 5:14pm when I should have left at 1pm. I worked 8am-6pm (2 hours and 15 minutes more than I should each day) everyday in order to reap the rewards of summer hours; the tasty fruit of the half day. Needless to say cramming two weeks worth of work into one is time consuming.

The Unexpected

Crying in boots, on the phone to my mum. I’d had a crappy day and the stress of organising a hen do, packing and letting go of work was just too much. So I sat in the QUEUE waiting for my prescription, mopping at my eyes with my newly purchased tissues. Like an idiot.

I blame the gentlemanly cashier that served me prior to waiting on my prescription (how long does it take to grab a box of tablets, really?) He was so friendly and so caring, that he just made me want to collapse into his arms, wailing, ‘Why do bad things happen to good people?’ He kept calling me darling and was so reassuring when I kept entering my pin incorrectly. Just when all my hope in humanity had disintegrated he came along and restored it. Why is it that when somebody is nice to you, when you feel awful, does it make you more sad? Why is that?

Saturday:

Saturday 17th August 2013

Saturday 17th August 2013

The Good

Having my haircut and blow dried in the morning and then heading up to Chelsea for my Sister’s surprise Hen Do. She had no idea where we were going but eventually, after many steps along the Kings Road she cottoned on and her face beamed with excitement. ‘We’re in Chelsea!’ All eyes were then immediately peeled for Spencer Matthews. We enjoyed a delicious and decadent champagne afternoon tea, with the fizziest Moet I’ve ever had, testing Lucy’s knowledge of her future husband and looking around in awe at the ample men in brogues and women in the spikiest stilettos you ever did see, sipping copious, £12-a-time Martini’s.

It was an expensive treat but worth the many pennies we spent.

The Bad

My dress got yanked above my shoulders by a gust of wind along the Kings Road. And then two men and a woman gave me the filthiest, coldest look imaginable, which did wonders for my bikini body confidence. Naaaaat! I’m sorry that my rear is that disgusting and horror inducing. I had my best knickers on as well, the cheek (ha literally!) You’d have thought I’d just straddled a lamp post and started stripping, from the way they were carrying on. Note to self: I shall henceforth wear trousers in Chelsea.

The Unexpected

Getting home earlier than expected, which allowed ample time for last minute packing and general sorting of holiday things.

Sunday:

Sunday 18th August 2013

Sunday 18th August 2013

The Good

GOING TO SPAAAAIIIIIIINNNNNNN!!! HOLIDAYYYYYY!!!

The Bad

Having to wait for a certain pair of males to hurry up and get in the easy-jet-baggage-drop QUEUE! Then discovering that the luggage belts weren’t working which led to delays and the very real fear that my bag might get lost. Oh and having to run to our gate, with the majority of our group left in duty free looking for my friends passport. I was very much on edge and there was absolutely no time for Maccy D’s. Disappointing.

The Unexpected

We all successfully boarded the plane and arrived safe and sound, altogether in Spain. Oh and during the flight I laughed so much that I spat out a whole mouthful of orange juice, over myself, my friend and a fellow passenger in front. Think staggered burst, like a spluttering drain, almost like a hose with a stutter. I tried so hard to keep the orange juice in but James you are too funny! Sehr hilar!

Leave a Reply

