Week 32: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 5th August 2013

Monday 5th August 2013

The Good

Getting to work early and starting the day with a creamy coffee.

The Bad

The rain. Getting absolutely soaked in a monsoon-like downpour, I could have stood in the shower fully clothed and been drier. My shoes broke, my bag got soaked and all my foundation ran all over my white blazer. Far from ideal, I even had to crack out my swimming towel on the train.

The Unexpected

Having a rain induced conversation on the train with the women next to me. The weather brings us Brits together.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 6th August 2013

Tuesday 6th August 2013

The Good

The future brother in laws birthday which called for Pizza Express after work. Y to the um.

The Bad

But the trains were all up the spout due to stupid signal failures. So I was late to Henry’s birthday meal and my courses were all out of sync as a result. But the eve was still full of tasty Italian treats.

The Unexpected

Getting shut in the barriers at the train station. I should start to expect this now, seeing as it happens all the time.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 7th August 2013

Wednesday 7th August 2013

The Good

Starter for Ten, making me laugh when I felt like crying.

The Bad

Spending yet another lunchtime trying to trace my late Topshop delivery. 9 days and counting.

Saying goodbye to a couple at Church who are moving away, I’m sad to see them go.

And breaking my fast day by devouring a cake at midnight; the hunger pains just got to be too much.

The Unexpected

Going to a company orientation day at our head office. Lots of free books and getting home an hour earlier. Sweet.

Thursday:

Thursday 8th August 2013

Thursday 8th August 2013

The Good

An amazing time at Somerset House watching the premiere of the fantastic film About Time. Drinking beer whilst the stars came out onto stage including Richard Curtis, the babe that is Bill Nighy, Rachel McAdams, Donna from Neighbours and lots more. Such a beautiful, hilarious and very British film, I loved every minute of it.

The Bad

Getting to bed past 2am.

The Unexpected

Seeing Heston Blumenthal, Richard Bacon and Kirsty Allsopp in the audience afterwards and shouting out their names a little too loudly, not quite realising how close I actually was to them. Wearing socks and flipflops because it was sehr chilling sitting outside at midnight. And befriending the couple sitting next to us; turns out Rupert and what’s-her-face got the same train home and when we alighted they waved us off. Oh and we saw the guy who played Dudley Dursley in the audience. Superb!

Friday:

Friday 9th August 2013

Friday 9th August 2013

The Good

Treating myself to some much needed fro yo and a banana muffin. The perfect afternoon pick me up from so little sleep.

The Bad

Feeling even more knackered after my friday night swim.

The Unexpected

Eating fish cakes whilst watching Coyote Ugly for the first (and last) time. I live a crazy life.

Saturday:

Saturday 10th August 2013

Saturday 10th August 2013

The Good

Attending the 70th birthday party of a beloved family friend, Iris, who is the most generous and Godly woman I know. Such a sweetheart and she doesn’t look a day over 45.

The Bad

Sophie getting frightened by some recorders but a cuddle with her Auntie soon cheered her up.

The Unexpected

An evening trip to Tesco’s to return some internet purchases which led to stumbling across a half price kaftan/playsuit for my holiday. Followed by a kettle chip and cup of tea feast at home watching One Foot in the Algarve with the rents and little Soph.

Sunday:

Sunday 11th August 2013

Sunday 11th August 2013

The Good

Putting Sophie’s hair in the world’s cutest bunches. She’s such a beauty. Meeting up with my friend Ruth for more fro you and a natter, followed by Church.

The Bad

Finding it hard to integrate into Kings Cross church, cool Christians are the worst kind. Intimidating.

The Unexpected

Knowing that traipsing up to London on a sunday is most definitely not something I’m keen to commit to. 5 days a week is enough thank you very much.

One thought on “Week 32: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Leave a Reply

