Week 31: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 29th July 2013

Monday 29th July 2013

The Good

The fact that the need for modesty bags to cover dirty magazines has finally been recognised. Couldn’t agree more, no one wants to be flashed when they’ve innocently popped to the co-operative for a bunch of bananas and some rice cakes.

The Bad

Walking all the way to Topshop to collect my order only to discover that the email I’d received was only confirmation of my order. Internet shopping faux pas numbero uno.

The Unexpected

Picking up my internet shopping from Mark and Spencers painlessly. I’m very impressed with their click and collect service, mainly because it’s free and speedy.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 30th July 2013

Tuesday 30th July 2013

The Good

An exceptionally good starbucks coffee, sheltering from the rain, with my head buried in the above pages. Why We Broke Up is such a gorgeous book. Read it. Oh and happy birthday Abi, one of my bestest friends eveeeerr!

The Bad

The rain, it was so cold in Starbucks but as I nudged through to the back and found an armchair, I began to both dry off and defrost.

The Unexpected

Finding parallels to my own life in Why We Broke Up. Weird, but strangely comforting.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 31st July 2013

Wednesday 31st July 2013

The Good

Receiving my new kindle case, no more boring matt black!

The Bad

Having to wait for the office postman to bring my package upstairs, I couldn’t wait to open it and see what it was like. Needless to say, Run for Covers, have done an excellent job. Hooray for interesting Kindle covers and Wuthering Heights.

The Unexpected

Realising what a complete babe Wretch 32 is. He was on Radio One’s call or delete, such a joker!

Thursday:

Thursday 1st August 2013

Thursday 1st August 2013

The Good

The week is slowly but surely inching closer to the weekend. The weeks are just whizz by these days.

The Bad

Yearning for a colour coded bookcase like the above.

The Unexpected

Waiting forever while Tesco fetched my online order from their warehouse. Consequently I was spotted – just standing like a lemon, reading in Tesco’s – by a colleague. He looked baffled by my lunchtime activity – reading, aimlessly in a busy supermarket.

Friday:

Friday 2nd August 2013

Friday 2nd August 2013

The Good

Finally falling in love with a bag. And purchasing him for half the original price. Score! Now that’s what I call arm candy.

The Bad

The day just never seemed to end and yet I didn’t seem to get anything done.

The Unexpected

Purchasing a purple pair of sunglasses. I’m nearly ready for my approaching holiday.

Saturday:

Saturday 3rd August 2013

Saturday 3rd August 2013

The Good

Fitting in a morning swim, a wedding shoe shop (success, I finally have bridesmaid shoes) and a dinner partaaay with church peeps.

The Bad

Picture this. We’re all sitting around the table enjoying the below cheesecakes, the raspberry one being mine, when my Romanian friend’s male cousin pipes up.

‘Bakey,’ he says, which I confidently assume is his attempt at Becky which IS NOT AND NEVER HAS BEEN MY NAME. BLOODY HELL HOW MANY TIMES!!!!!!

‘You know,’ he inhales a mouthful of my cheesecake, contemplating the ricotta smeared on his fork whilst thinking of how to word the horror that follows, ‘in Romania, when a woman can cook it means she’s ready…’ He pauses, all of us staring at him, wondering what on earth a Romanian woman with the ability to cook could possibly be ready for. My face is turning a fine shade of crimson, matching the flushed raspberries that adorn my cheesecake.

He swallows, pierces a lone raspberry onto his fork, studies it for a moment, and then utters, ‘…for marriage.’

And I don’t know whether to laugh or cry, or die quietly in the corner from a sudden bout of extreme embarrassment. Is this a chat up line? Is that a thing?

The Unexpected

Finding the bridesmaids shoes in the first shop we went in. On sale at a bargain price. Ideal.

Oh and finding poor Peter Pan, face planting the floor of the Disney Store. Clearly he’d had a rough night with Wendy, Hook and Mr Smee.

Sunday:

Sunday 4th August 2013

Sunday 4th August 2013

The Good

Spending the day with my lovely friend Ruth who has moved over here permanently from South Africa. We shared a pizza in St James Park, had a long catch up and headed to a young and vibrant church, full of attractive, eligible bachelors in Kings Cross.

The Bad

Losing my Oyster card and having to fork out for an unnecessary travelcard to London. So irritating.

The Unexpected

Getting home and discovering a hole in the lining of my new bag. Turns out my Oyster had slipped through the hole. Cheers Zara.

One thought on “Week 31: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Leave a Reply

