Week 30: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 22nd July 2013

Monday 22nd July 2013

The Good

A Prince is Born!! Welcome to the world little George!

Meeting my parents in London after work for a Byron burger and a visit to the amazing italian ice cream shop that is Scoop. It’s always nice when your parents tell you they’re proud of you.

The Bad

Being stressed at work and having to deal with niggly, silly corrections all day. Don’t you get tired splitting hairs? I thought I was fussy, good grief!

The Unexpected

Getting a phone call at 5:15pm from reception telling me that my Dad was downstairs.

Receptionist: ‘Shall I send him up?’

Me: No, no please don’t.

It was incredibly embarrassing to find that my Dad had flashed his police warrant card just to sneak a peek of my office. What is he like!

Tuesday:

Tuesday 23rd July 2013

Tuesday 23rd July 2013

The Good

Going to see the absolutely amazing Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: The Musical with my primary school boyfriend. It’s an absolutely fantastic show, I was literally gobsmacked the entire time because it was so incredible! Best musical I’ve ever seen and I’ve seen quite a few in my time, believe me.

The Bad

I just wish I was with someone who would’ve let me blabber on about Roald Dahl for longer, who didn’t feel the need to comment or interrupt me. And who wasn’t so sensitive about a girl paying for dinner. So sensitive that I had to walk myself home at 1am. I would have said no but the offer would have been nice.

The Unexpected

Befriending the couple in front of us, I love chatting to (safe) strangers, friendliness makes the world go round.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 24th July 2013

Wednesday 24th July 2013

The Good

The sun and a long lunch hour in the park to nurse my sleep deprived head.

The Bad

Waiting for a thank you that never came.

The Unexpected

Emailing friends at work, more discreet than texting.

Thursday:

Thursday 25th July 2013

Thursday 25th July 2013

The Good

A work party to meet our new CEO, in someones luxurious garden. Lots of wine, lots of delicious canapes, including quails eggs, beef carpaccio, coconut prawns, mini souffles and mini ice creams. I love my job.

The Bad

My dress was a little bit see through. And I accidently ate a chilli and people thought I was having some kind of fit.

The Unexpected

Finally talking to the young male colleague that I thought hated me, on account of the fact that he averts his gaze whenever I walk past. And that’s a lot. Anyway turns out he’s quite hilarious and there’s nothing like choking on a chilli for breaking the ice. Catching the work coach back to Charing Cross which saved navigating the tube considering we were in the middle of nowhere.

Friday:

Friday 26th July 2013

Friday 26th July 2013

The Good

Going for drinks after work with work friends; getting to know them all a little better by sharing drunken stories and antics.

The Bad

Being on a fast day (I’m on the 5:2 diet). So only half a pint for me.

The Unexpected

Leaving the pub at exactly the right time to catch my train; score!

Saturday:

Saturday 27th July 2013

Saturday 27th July 2013

The Good

The glorious rain. Going for an evening drive in it, just because I could. And twirling around in it, all alone in a deserted car park feeling wet but very much alive.

The Bad

Spending the whole day on the sofa, watching films and internet shopping. Bit wasteful, but necessary.

The Unexpected

Remembering how much I love Baz Lurhman’s Romeo and Juliet.

Sunday:

Sunday 28th July 2013

Sunday 28th July 2013

The Good

Church and a handsome new chap, who I actually shook the hand of and spoke too. Crazy. Then a church picnic and a large dose of family dinner and new girl.

The Bad

Above new guy? Well, he has a girlfriend. I checked on facebook, I’m done with getting my hopes up so I have to suss out these things. Shameless.

The Unexpected

Being hugged by someone I’d just met. Odd.

Leave a Reply

