Week 29: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 15th July 2013

Monday 15th July 2013

The Good

The early morning sun.

The Bad

The fact that it was my last day as a 22-year-old.

The Unexpected

My train was cancelled so I had to catch the considerably later train and endure exotic aromas and unbearable heat while the station staff tried to work out how to operate the doors. Hideous.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 16th July 2013 - My Birthday!

Tuesday 16th July 2013 – My Birthday!

The Good

My birthday! The prospect of a yummy meal after work with the family and a present or two…

I had a great birthday all in all; ate far too much, laughed a lot and realised how much I’ve actually accomplished at the tender age of twenty-two, after all. I also have a lot of wonderful people in my life.

The Bad

Being incredibly busy at work and consequently super stressed. So stressed, in fact, that I voluntarily got into work for 8 o’clock to get on top of all my loose ends.

The Unexpected

Getting a card and a book from one of my work friends, and heading out for a birthday lunch together. We got a slice of pizza each from the wonderful pepe, and cans of coke and sat on the steps overlooking Trafalgar square in the hot sun. It was lovely. Then we wandered up to the amazing italian ice cream shop that is Scoop, where we met another work friend and sat and enjoyed our gelato in Seven Dials. Then I had a 4pm tea party with my new department which involved lots of cake, a vibrant bunch of flowers and a birthday card covered in beautiful macarons, signed by everyone. Delightful. Then a delicious birthday tea with my wonderful family in the evening.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 17th July 2013

Wednesday 17th July 2013

The Good

My sister’s 20th birthday and homemade chinese.

The Bad

Getting home late.

The Unexpected

The heat, oh man it’s a hot July this year.

Thursday:

Thursday 18th July 2013

Thursday 18th July 2013

The Good

Having a chilled out thursday eve.

The Bad

The humidity. The train.

The Unexpected

Baby Sophie took her first few steps on her dinky little footsies today.

Friday:

Friday 19th July 2013

Friday 19th July 2013

The Good

Making it to part two of Gone Girl; it’s taken me long enough.

The Bad

A really chilled out eve, sitting on my bed and reading. Just me – the evening air caressing my curtains – and my book.

The Unexpected

Ignoring a midnight phone call that I wanted to answer so very much. 22 is going to be different, goodbye to second best. Please leave a message after the tone.

Saturday:

Saturday 20th July 2013

Saturday 20th July 2013

The Good

A mini reunion with my old housemates. Celebrating my lovely housemates birthday in her garden with  old memories hanging in the air, new ones holding us together and the prospect of the ones to come fizzing and bubbling like the champagne we sipped. Knowing that you may not be in someones life everyday anymore, you may no longer get the opportunity to make them a cup of tea every day and sit scattered but close around the lounge that you shared; split fours ways, you still fit together to make a square. A house, a solid firm brick, a block of friendship; that is paused and resumes effortlessly.

The Bad

My wasted day bikini hunting.

The Unexpected

Trying on my housemates glasses and wanting a pair. Glasses could be a fun new wardrobe accessory.

Sunday:

Sunday 21st July 2013

Sunday 21st July 2013

The Good

Hever Castle with the family. A lie in, the sun and a big brass band. Sophie’s face as she tried smoked salmon for the first time. A perfect picnic and cups of tea in real mugs. We don’t do things by halves.

The Bad

It moments like this, days like these, that I most want a boyfriend to share it with.

The Unexpected

The water maze was shut by the time we got to it. Disappointing.

Leave a Reply

