Week 27: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 1st July 2013

Monday 1st July 2013

The Good

Finding my lost ear bud from my skull candy headphones on a walk with the mother. Ideal.

The Bad

Having an exceptionally poor salad for lunch and spending the afternoon as a hungry horse.

The Unexpected

Getting an email from Walker books about a temporary job opportunity and having to tell them I’ve now got a job. Saying it out loud just never gets old.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 2nd July 2013

Tuesday 2nd July 2013

The Good

Wearing my new tarte au citron/lemon yellow shirt and feeling all summery and zesty fresh as a result.

The Bad

The rain. Surely precipitation is forbidden in July.

The Unexpected

Falling in love with ‘The Lover’s Dictionary’ by David Levithan, such an incredible, beyond beautiful book, telling a story in such a clever way. Truly inspiring and reminds me of my very favoritest film too, 500 Days of Summer.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 3rd July 2013

Wednesday 3rd July 2013

The Good

Going for my predecessors leaving lunch at Jamie’s Italian, enjoying some bonding time with my new team and gobbling a delicious serving of Honeycomb Cannelloni; three ways filled with pumpkin, spinach and ricotta, aubergine and sun-dried tomatoes. Yummy.

The Bad

Having an incredibly strong iced coffee served in a wine glass. I was hyper all afternoon.

The Unexpected

My I-choked-on-a-Krispy-Kreme-doughnut story continues to be quite the hoot at work functions.

Thursday:

Thursday 4th July 2013

Thursday 4th July 2013

The Good

A group of us at work dressed up as Bernadette from Where’d You Go, Bernadette to generate awareness of this amazing books paperback publication. I was so proud and excited to be a real part of such a fantastic and clever marketing campaign, celebrating my penultimate day as part of Orion’s marketing team in true style – walking around London and jumping on the tube sporting red lipstick, huge sunglasses and a luminous highlighter yellow headscarf. So much fun. Oh and read Bernadette, it’s witty, hilarious and sehr addictive.

The Bad

Having very sore feet after racing around London for a good three hours and severely lacking afternoon motivation.

The Unexpected

Getting photographed with another colleague, by photography students on our way back to the office because we looked ‘striking and elegant’ in our Bernadette guises – apparently.

Friday:

Friday 5th July 2013

Friday 5th July 2013

The Good

My lovely colleagues got me a lovely good luck/thank you card and a copy of Careless People (due to my Gatsby obsession) as today was my last day in Marketing.

The Bad

Feeling sad that I won’t be working with this great team anymore, I’m going to miss them. But luckily we’ll still be on the same floor when I start my new job on monday.

The Unexpected

Being given a beautiful bunch of flowers for dressing up as Bernadette. And having a great night with friends, attending one of my friend’s boyfriends bands gig.

Saturday:

Saturday 6th July 2013

Saturday 6th July 2013

The Good

A glorious sunny day with the sister and niece sorting out her wedding playlist and popping over to Winston Churchill’s house for a cream tea and a wander around his garden. Perfection.

The Bad

Getting lost and hitting a curb, which nicked my tire. It looked fine to me but apparently it could get hot and explode because the tire wall is weakened etc. So that’s £43.80 down the drain, it’s a damn good job I’m permanently employed now.

The Unexpected

Attending a friend of a friend’s house party, enjoying a glass or two or punch and chatting the night away.

Sunday:

Sunday 7th July 2013

Sunday 7th July 2013

The Good

A great day with the family. Playing with Sophie in the paddling pool, nearly eating a whole pig and enjoying this sudden bout of sun.

The Bad

Having to get up before I wanted to.

The Unexpected

Realising how precious Sophie is. As much as having my own child absolutely terrifies me – mainly due to childbirth – I know that without a doubt I want to be a Mum. One of these days.

One thought on “Week 27: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Leave a Reply

