Week 23: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 3rd June 2013

Monday 3rd June 2013

The Good

Listening to my Gatsby soundtrack on the way to work and feeling like the bees knees, its arms and legs as a result!

The Bad

The bus and it’s inability to wait for me to get off the train.

The Unexpected

Finding out that the abandoned computer on my desk at work, actually operates. No more mac for me!

Tuesday:

Tuesday 4th June 2013

Tuesday 4th June 2013

The Good

Cutest little old man sitting next to me (on my right) at lunch, sucking on a Werther’s original; stereotypical much!

The Bad

The rudest woman alive was sat on my right, a women who had just purchased m&m world and was yelling down the phone in a shrill and hideous voice.

The Unexpected

Rather than asking me to move up, this vile woman actually sat on me. She didn’t ask, she didn’t smile politely and motion with her hand, no, she sat on me. Some people.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 5th June 2013

Wednesday 5th June 2013

The Good

An early night and watching The Apprentice in bed after an evening with the niece.

The Bad

Have a roaring cold in early June. That should be illegal surely.

The Unexpected

Cannot believe Rebecca got fired on The Apprentice, there’s no justice in this world.

Thursday:

Thursday 6th June 2013

Thursday 6th June 2013

The Good

Going to the GBK opening in Waterloo. Being able to eat as much as I liked, completely free of charge. We had olives, halloumi bites, every kind of fries/chips, onion rings, garlic mayonnaise, basil mayonnaise, L&P, orange juice and lemonade, extra bacon and extra cheese on my bacon and cheese burger just because I could. It was amazing and we had Oreo milkshakes to finish, and I rolled all the way home.

The Bad

Feeling really ill, which marred my appetite slightly.

The Unexpected

Getting invited to interview by Orion where I currently work. GBK was the perfect way to celebrate.

Friday:

Friday 7th June 2013

Friday 7th June 2013

The Good

A colleague’s birthday at work, meant a krispy kreme doughnut, croissant, strawberry and tea brunch. They found my ‘choking-on-a-krispy-kreme’ story hilarious, and I was told I should start a youtube channel. I think I’ll stick to this little old blog of mine.

The Bad

My dress blowing up in the wind and flashing everyone on Charing Cross Road.

The Unexpected

Going to Westfield’s Foyles to drop off signed bookplates, I love a little out of office adventure. A lovely drink after work with some colleagues and getting a pep talk for my interview on monday. Realising how desperately I want to be a permanent part of Orion.

Saturday:

Saturday 8th June 2013

Saturday 8th June 2013

The Good

Bowling. Friends. Coca Cola.

The Bad

I had a brilliant night until…we got locked in the car park. All the barriers were down. There was literally no way out. I panicked, like I always do, how the hell were we all going to get home. After driving round for a while, refusing to accept our fate, denying the obvious, we spotted a clearing. A clearing which would mean driving over a grass verge/curb in order to get out. Ironically I’d watched top gear before coming out, gasping at the potholes and speed bumps they encountered in Africa. And now I was about to face my own driving challenge, mounting this curb and getting us outta there. Slowly, slowly I edged up, stopped and then went down again. I could hear scraping and scuffing and my legs turned to jelly. It was not an experience I would like to repeat in a hurry, note to self, never park there again! But my friends were brilliant and all was well in the end, thank goodness I wasn’t alone.

The Unexpected

The above.

Sunday:

Sunday 9th June 2013

Sunday 9th June 2013

The Good

A restful day at home.

The Bad

Church. I have never been so embarrassed in my life and that my friends, is saying something. Firstly, it was a talk about singleness today, so I didn’t want to miss it. (I really wish I had) In I went all ready to be encouraged, to learn that singleness was a gift and that eventually God would fulfill the desires of my heart etc. But no. The service started with the elder asking all the single people to stand up. I laughed initially, thinking ‘he cannot be serious’. But slowly and surely elderly and middle aged women stood up. And me. And an attractive rather muscular man (who I’ve seen a few times now and who must be in his early to mid twenties) parallel to me on the other side of the church, stood up. Apart from him, everyone else was female and pushing 60. This does not do much for the morale of a single, 21 year old. I was painfully embarrassed, and evidently so was the eligible bachelor. We stood for what felt like 10 minutes while the elder apologised if we were ever made to feel like second rate citizens in the church blah blah blah. Which admittedly I did feel when on meeting a church member they said, ‘And you’re married too…?’ to which I replied, ‘No one.’ I just thought that was so unbelievably rude of her, as if my worth and value were only to be found in a man and marriage. Anyway, after being named and shamed, which was potentially a blessing in disguise as I now know that handsome chap is free as a bird, (score!) I sat down, my aloneness reinforced. I was sitting all alone with a heavy cold, no tissues and shaking with anger/irritation at this elders lack of tact.

The sermon was horrific, focusing on lifelong celibacy, nuns, and how this one woman had prayed and prayed for God to bring her a husband but he never came, because that wasn’t God’s plan for her etc. Encouraging! It was far from cheery, and so I sat alone trying to hide the tears, that were gushing (yes gushing) out of my eyes. I felt like I’d been grouped with these older ladies, shown a glimpse of my horrifying and very single future, as a bitter, cynical and lonely old women. Probably with a stick and half a dozen cats.

My feelings of hopelessness and sheer panic weren’t helped by the loved up couple next to me. But I couldn’t leave, to get a tissue or to run to my car because a bloody pillar was blocking the end of the pew. It was awful, my mascara was smudged, my nose was all snotty, no wonder I’m single. When it finally ended I ran to the toilet and then promptly left. And I haven’t been back since.

The Unexpected

It would have to be the above again. Totally shocking, I’m still working on my letter of complaint, and wondering why I subjected myself to standing up. I’m too honest for my own good.

Leave a Reply

