Week 22: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 27th May 2013

Monday 27th May 2013

The Good

Another adventure with the friends today. We all met in Sainsbury’s to get picnic snacks. Myself and the boys, opted for a couple of baguettes, a block of lurpack, some cheese, ham, a jar of pickle and some innocent fruit juice. Oh and some serviettes, plastic cups and of course, cutlery. We don’t do things by halves. Then we raced to Kelsey Park, in a failed convoy, where we enjoyed lots of food, a few games of petanque and frisbee. I also had butter put in between my toes (much to my horror), was pelted with scotch eggs, ran away from a leg covered in Canadian goose poo and narrowly missed a sweaty-cheese-slap in the face. It was an eventful and altogether brilliant afternoon, followed by a pub garden beverage.

The Bad

The fact that this wasn’t a four-day weekend. That should definitely be a thing.

The Unexpected

Oh, do I have work tomorrow?

Tuesday:

Tuesday 28th May 2013

Tuesday 28th May 2013

The Good

The hilarious Danny Wallace is back in my commute. And nipple jokes.

The Bad

Feeling so relaxed from the weekend that I couldn’t focus on work.

The Unexpected

Laughing on the train like a maniac at the ‘best of Nick Miller’ from the amazing New Girl. Comedy gold, if you haven’t watched it, what are you waiting for? ‘You gave me cookie, I got you cookie man! Gave me cookie got you cookie!’ What a fine specimen of a man!

Wednesday:

Wednesday 29th May 2013

Wednesday 29th May 2013

The Good

Meeting up with the old housemates from uni and catching up in L to the O to the N to the D to the O to the N.

The Bad

My new shoes made by heels bleed. Ouch, I was hobbling all day. Getting to bed far too late.

The Unexpected

Realising how much I’ve changed and in some weird way, acknowledging that I’m happier at home. I prefer this life. I thought Uni was the be all and end all. But it turns out it really isn’t. I much prefered uni to my school days and now I prefer my working life to my university days. I suppose I’m growing up. Away from boy drama and old memories.

Thursday:

Thursday 27th May 2013

Thursday 30th May 2013

The Good

A hilarious little boy on the train. Here’s some of his hilarity: Boy: Oh WOW! Mum look at that pyramid! (Said pyramid was in fact the shard. Too funny!) Boy: Mum? Please can we get a snake? We can put it in a glass tank and if it escapes we can chop it in half with an axe!’ Need I say more?

The Bad

The rain. I got soaked to the skin.

The Unexpected

Getting through two boxes of plasters due to my earlier shoe faux pas. My feet are wrecked since working 9-5, I need to invest in decent flats.

Friday:

Friday 31st May 2013

Friday 31st May 2013

The Good

Beautiful weather, my friends and that friday feeling. Bookshop perusal and plenty of sol.

The Bad

Finding out that a boy in our year at school had sadly passed away from a long battle with cancer. 22, so unbelievably sad.

The Unexpected

Consuming 4 sol’s and a jagerbomb. Then stumbling around covent garden with the aid of several arms and ending up in GBK at roughly 10pm. Loosing my friend’s phone, although James, if you’re reading this, firstly hello and secondly I am 100% sure that you took your phone off me due to my drunken state. That being said when we came to leave we couldn’t locate the phone and after utilising the find my iPhone app, despite GBK refusing to turn the music down due to some silly rule, we located it behind the till. So on reflection it probably was my fault for which I sincerely apologise. The next unexpected things was our journey home, James got off at green park and the rest of us didn’t. But somehow we were reunited on the train home so all was well. It was such a brilliant night, and I may have drunk too much, said too much and made some idiotic phone calls, but all the best nights involve that level of tomfoolery.

Saturday:

Saturday 1st June 2013

Saturday 1st June 2013

The Good

A massive lie in.

The Bad

A lecture from the rents about coming home too late. Yeah yeah, blah blah blah, same old same old. Just got to learn to bite my tongue and nod in the right places.

The Unexpected

Playing a rather heated game of Ticket to Ride at my friends dinner partaay! Lots of shouting and foul play occurred, hilarious.

Sunday:

Sunday 2nd June 2013

Sunday 2nd June 2013

The Good

Chatting and praying with one of my best church friends. About life, about jobs, about men and relationships and the plight of the single girl. It really helped to know that she wanted to get married just as much as I do and now she is. Followed by some much-needed thinking time on the bus home.

The Bad

Arguing with my parents. Again.

The Unexpected

Buying The Great Gatsby soundtrack. It’s beautiful. Sitting down with my parents and having a heart to heart whilst my mum cut my Dad’s hair. Sharing my struggles and fears, relieving myself of the enormous pressure I put on myself to succeed and get what I want.

One thought on “Week 22: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Leave a Reply

