Week 21: The good, the bad and the unexpected – Bank holiday bumper edition

Monday:

Monday 20th May 2013

Monday 20th May 2013

The Good

Going to Waterstones Head Office in Piccadilly with a colleague to deliver a very important manuscript. I love an adventure.

The Bad

Knowing that this was the last day of having a proper desk all to myself.

The Unexpected

Being given the task of getting a promotional flip book made for one of our books. A very cool job indeed, I used to be scared of the phone but now I can’t get enough of saying ‘Hello, I was wondering if you could help me. I’m ringing from Orion Books…’

Tuesday:

Tuesday 21st May 2013

Tuesday 21st May 2013

The Good

Getting to the train station earlier than I have ever been there before.

The Bad

Over sleeping. Waking up at 7:45 rather than 6:45. Whoops.

The Unexpected

I wasn’t late by some obscene miracle. I even had time to purchase a cup of tea at the station. I should oversleep more often.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 22nd May 2013

Wednesday 22nd May 2013

The Good

Imagine Dragons. The Great Gatsby. Both of which jazzed up my salad lunch considerably.

The Bad

Being too busy.

The Unexpected

My colleagues really liked my Great Gatsby review which made me happy as Larry. Whoever Larry is.

Thursday:

Thursday 23rd May 2013

Thursday 23rd May 2013

The Good

Drinking prosecco and eating gorgeous Italian tapas in Polpo, for a colleagues leaving do. All expenses paid, one cannot complain. My icecream (above) was the best bit!

The Bad

Getting very lost indeed whilst on a quest for pink ribbon.

The Unexpected

More prosecco, speeches and snacks around the marketing desks. Drinking in the office, whatever next!

Friday:

Friday 24th May 2013

Friday 24th May 2013

Friday 24th May 2013

Friday 24th May 2013

Friday 24th May 2013

Friday 24th May 2013

The Good

Friday and another business lunch. Many a mexican dish and a big fat Sol. Followed by a half price double cheeseburger from Maccy D’s, on the way home. What? It’s friday!

The Bad

The rain and getting absolutely soaked on the way home. Plus there were some thuggish idiots on the train and I simply felt to intimidated to let myself escape into the world of Danny Wallace. So I sat like an alert meerkat for the duration of my train ride.

The Unexpected

Walking home at a snails pace.

Saturday:

Saturday 25th May 2013

Saturday 25th May 2013

Saturday 25th May 2013

Saturday 25th May 2013

The Good

A gorgeous day with my lovely friends and all of us being reunited for the first time in a long time. The day started off with a clothes swap with all the girls, where we took our old but still decent clothes that we didn’t want anymore and swapped them giving the rest to charity. Then we ate a lot of chocolate and drank some sangria and bucks to the fizz. Sitting in the garden until it got all to chilly. Then we jumped on a bus and met the boys for a slap up meal and some drinky pinks. It was a delightful day indeed.

The Bad

Nothing was bad really. Nothing at all.

The Unexpected

Ordering scallops and chips for dinner. It was a surprisingly great combo.

Sunday:

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

Sunday 26th May 2013

The Good

Today was a lovely day. I went back to church as I’d been avoiding it for the last 3 or 4 weeks. And it was great to be back, it felt homely and maybe I needed to get away from it to realise how much I’d missed it and needed it in my life; as annoying and frustrating as church can be sometimes. So I stayed afterwards, catching up with people, one of the women in my cell group is having her third baby and her gorgeous little 3 years old daughter, kept pulling on my hand and saying ‘Mummy’s got a baby in her tummy!’ to which I replied with wide eyes, ‘Wow, has she!’ So cute. I stayed for a church picnic in the park, catching up with the lovely couple who took me under their wing when I arrived all those months ago. And I ate a tasty £1 prawn salad from the co-op in the sun. Then I got the bus which was quite lovely, giving me a chance to read and relax and then I walked home, leaving phone messages for various friends that I haven’t spoken too in yonks. Then Mother and I headed out for an ice lolly and a long walk in the woods together, laughing and chatting along the way. And then the most exciting part of my day, besides the dandelions clocks and buttercups, was seeing The Great Gatsby for the second time in 3D. Boom.

The Bad

Having a headache.

The Unexpected

Getting defensive when people laughed in The Great Gatsby. I ‘sssshhed’ them. Loudly.

Leave a Reply

