Week 20: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 13th May 2013

Monday 13th May 2013

The Good

My commute with Danny Wallace’s ‘Friends like these’; he is an amazing writer.

The Bad

Being at work after a long and busy weekend. Ich bin sehr mude.

The Unexpected

Realising that I’m young and time is perhaps on my side. Learning, courtesy of Mr Danny Wallace, that my twenties are an exciting time, a whole decade devoted to becoming my own person. And that my friends takes some time.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 14th May 2013

Tuesday 14th May 2013

The Good

Hanging out with Gray C in the evening, she really is a babe.

The Bad

Feeling too ill to go to zumba. Everything hurts at the moment, aches and pains galore. I feel more like 41 then 21.

The Unexpected

Having the weirdest dream that all these amazing and life changing things had happened to my friends, like marriage, and I had no idea. I’d missed out on all these things happening, I hadn’t been a part of them and it felt horrible. I blame ‘Friends like these’. But it made me think about making more of an effort to stay in contact with the wonderful people in my life.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 15th May 2013

Wednesday 15th May 2013

The Good

I am in love with Bastille. I want to marry that sound. Having Nicole round to watch the apprentice together and nibbling on homemade chocolate krispy cakes. Twas lovely.

The Bad

Rushing around like a crazy fool.

The Unexpected

Reading about half of The Fault in our Stars by the amazing John Green. I literally could not put it down it is that good. But epically heartbreaking.

Thursday:

Thursday 16th May 2013

Thursday 16th May 2013

The Good

Finishing The Fault in our Stars. I was blown away by it, by its sadness and truth and beauty. The best book I’ve read this year, and the fact that I read it in 2 days flat whilst working says a lot. If you get the chance to devour it, then do, you will not be disappointed but you probably will cry. Check out my new book blog, A Plethora of Pages for a review on this amazing story one day soon.

The Bad

The rain and a very unlike May chill in the air.

The Unexpected

Being asked to go and see The Great Gatsby for work, they would pay for me and a friend. Being given the opportunity to review this amazing film for the Orion blog. Exciting times!

Friday:

Friday 17th May 2013

Friday 17th May 2013

The Good

Falling in love with my Kindle all over again, they certainly do offer a wonderful reading experience, even though I much prefer real pages. Getting a lovely free copy of my new favorite classic, The Great Gatsby. Going for drinks after work. The whole concept of Friday.

The Bad

Having a very sore heel.

The Unexpected

Loving The Great Gatsby so much. I tried to read it when I was younger and couldn’t get into it so I gave up and chucked it aside. But today I couldn’t get enough of this 1920’s world, F. Scott Fitzgerald is a superb writer.

Saturday:

Saturday 18th May 2013

Saturday 18th May 2013

The Good

Going to see The Great Gatsby on the big screen. It was a cinematic masterpiece, Baz Luhrmann has done it again.

The Bad

Missing the start of the film due to stupid traffic diversions, crying in the car because I’d already booked the tickets and I was lost with a sat nav with no gps signal. Useful. Thank goodness for speakerphone and a good friend to calm me down. It is hard being a woman sometimes, PMS is no fun.

The Unexpected

Being overwhelming glad that my parents were back from Wales. I missed them and my OCD had been really bad this week. Too much responsibility, being home alone is hard.

Sunday:

Sunday 19th May 2013

Sunday 19th May 2013

The Good

The mercy of a lie in.

The Bad

Feeling absolutely exhausted and super duper stressed. Even though stressed is desserts spelt backwards, it doesn’t make it any sweeter.

The Unexpected

Taking Sophie to play on the swings in the late afternoon sun and feeding her in the park. She’s a funny little thing.

Leave a Reply

