Week 19: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 6th May 2013

Monday 6th May 2013

The Good

Having the day off, bank holiday baby! Finally finishing my spring clean and getting my Parisian pictures up on my bedroom walls. Now I get to fall asleep under the gaze of the tour de Eiffel. Happy girl. Sweet dreams. Oh and having a lovely meal in a pub garden with my friends and little niecey-poo.

The Bad

The service at the pub was shockingly bad, but the company and weather made up for it; and a cheeky churro or two hit the spot.

The Unexpected

Being all geared up for trying a Boar burger, only to get lamb because they’d run out. Far from ideal.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 7th May 2013

Tuesday 7th May 2013

The Good

Gorgeous weather; it made walking to the train station an absolute treat.

The Bad 

My train terminated before my stop which meant a quick change and bumping into a colleague at London Bridge. Of course, being the chatting, friendly and stupid girl that I am, I stopped and made awkward conversation. What is the correct etiquette for these sort of situations?

The Unexpected

Feeling strangely put out that my commute was so unexpectedly interrupted. It’s my time to laugh at Radio 1 and read, not to make small talk.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 8th May 2013

Wednesday 8th May 2013

The Good

It was midweek, the weekend wasn’t too far off.

The Bad 

Having my commute interrupted again and bumping into my childhood best friend on the way to the station. I keep seeing her a lot lately. So of course we had to walk together and then sit together on the train for 50 minutes, chatting away, when all I wanted was some quality time with Nick Grimshaw and Danny Wallace; which seems ironic considering the subject matter of the book I’m reading. But it was actually quite nice, we’ve both changed so very much and we share so much history. A blast from the past you could say.

The Unexpected

A strong stench of urine in the park. It put me right off my bagel.

Thursday:

Thursday 9th May 2013

Thursday 9th May 2013

The Good

I was finally able to give blood, the full amount. My veins cooperated! And I bumped into my favourite teacher EVER, who inspired me to do an english degree and to write my first blog, way back in the day. She is a legend.

The Bad 

Getting told off for being too excited or manic, when I got home. I was just so happy that I’d done my bit for the old blood banks.

The Unexpected

Enjoying the corma that my dad made me for tea. My taste buds must be maturing; I do love coconut rice but you can keep those poppadoms.

Friday:

Friday 10th May 2013

Friday 10th May 2013

The Good

A day off to see Danny Wallace. Only Danny Wallace was ill so he had to cancel his Charlotte Street signing. Sad times, but we did have a lovely chat on twitter so that made up for it 🙂 Going shopping and spending an awful lot. It felt good!

The Bad 

Completing zero job applications. I was feeling awfully lazy regarding careers today.

The Unexpected

Feeling really sad when my parents left for their holiday in Wales. So this is what real loneliness feels like; it was as if I’d been winded. I seem to get weirder and more melodramatic everyday. Developing a deep love for my tangle teezer; seriously girls, best hair brush ever!

Saturday:

Saturday 11th May 2013

Saturday 11th May 2013

The Good

Going out with my lovely uni housemates. Dancing the night away, drinking too much, narrowly missing a few scrapes and counselling a taxi driver named George. It was the best night I’ve had in a long time. Watch this space for an upcoming post on this hilarious escapade.

The Bad 

Cutting my thumb on a bread knife. Ouch.

The Unexpected

Being very impressed with Rimmel’s Stay Matte transparent powder. Bye bye shiny face and all for a mere £3.58! Lovely.

Sunday:

Sunday 14th May 2013

Sunday 14th May 2013

The Good

Friends. Sister. Niece. Food, food and more food, plenty of piping hot tea and laughter.

The Bad 

Our feet. Heels are killers. Achy breaky sole.

The Unexpected

I’m an egg-in-a-nest pro. FACT.

One thought on “Week 19: The good, the bad and the unexpected

  1. Congrats on donating blood – and I am even more impressed that you were able to snap that picture while doing it. Those are some photo skills under-pressure.

Leave a Reply

