Week 18: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 29th April 2013

Monday 29th April 2013

The Good

Falling in love with Greg James’ dulcet tones on Radio 1. The best radio station ever.

The Bad

Using up the last of my Starbucks money-off vouchers. No more cheap drinks for me.

The Unexpected

Gray C being a surprisingly good TV watching companion. She was very cuddly, I think she was after more spinach.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 30th April 2013

Tuesday 30th April 2013

The Good

Jelly Tots before zumba, because there’s nothing like a nutritious burst of sugar-coated gelatin before exercise.

The Bad

Getting on the train and settling into my usual seat when some lads came on and one of them declared loudly to his mate that (and I quote), ‘naaaah she’s in my seat!’ I put my most incredulous face on and this seemed to shut him up. I’m sorry but does he own this train? I think not. I’m sure it is the youth of today’s mission to make Rebecca Palmer as irate as possible.

The Unexpected

Finding a gem of a quote in D.H.Lawrence’s The Lost Girl (which I might add has taken far too long to read…I finally finished it and nothing flipping happened!) ‘You live and learn and lose’ – bit depressing but I was feeling melancholy at the time, blame Bastille.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 1st May 2013

Wednesday 1st May 2013

The Good

The Sun, it was a truly b.e.a.u.tiful day. Too nice to be inside.

The Bad

I was sitting in the above green space, really enjoying my lunch and my book when a family gathered around the bench I was sitting on. They then lit up the world’s smelliest cigarettes and practically sat on me. Then they started conducting a family photo shoot. I tutted extremely loudly (much louder than I had actually intended, whoops) and stormed off incredibly obviously, even turning around to glare at them as I blatantly relocated to an unoccupied bench. I get really p***ed off by smokers, who sit next to a non smoker, in order to smoke. It is just rude. Please don’t ruin my smoke-free ambiance with your bad habit, I have chosen not to pollute my lungs so please don’t pollute them for me. Also some tourists are so unbelievably rude and oblivious to their surroundings sometimes, we’re not all on a jolly holiday. Crikey.

The Unexpected

Witnessing a vulgar PDA (public display of affection) from quite an aged couple. It was horrible and consequently I was sick in a bin. Ok, I wasn’t really but it was a close call. No one needs to see 50 years old kissing when you’re enjoying a cheese and pickle sandwich. Get a room.

Thursday:

Thursday 2nd May 2013

Thursday 2nd May 2013

The Good

An ice-cold Seattle Latte.

The Bad

Running up and down stairs and in and out of lifts all day at work.

The Unexpected

Fixing wheels onto a trolley, I thought this was a publishing contract not a lesson in mechanics.

Friday:

Friday 3rd May 2013

Friday 3rd May 2013

The Good

‘Whatever life may be, and whatever horror men have made of it, the world is a lovely place…something to marvel over’ – D.H.Lawrence. Amen to that. It’s friday and that my friends is good enough.

The Bad

Being too tired to blog. Forgive me. As soon as 11:30 rolls around I’m useless, I find it hard to believe that I used to stay up until 3am so easily.

The Unexpected

Having a lovely chat with my friend Hannah on the way home, wandering round the block with a phone glued to my ear. I’ve missed her an awful lot.

Saturday:

Saturday 4th May 2013

Saturday 4th May 2013

The Good

The big Spring clean. Cleaning behind every crevice, emptying every piece of furniture and reordering all my possessions. Chucking out all the crap I have accumulated over the years. Listening to good music and finally rewatching (and actually liking) the Vow.

The Bad

The big Spring clean took a long, long time. And I was covered in dust for three days.

The Unexpected

Having a lovely Skype chat with my friend Ruth from South Africa, I may not have met the love of my life on my month around Europe but I did make some amazing friends. I cannot wait to go and visit Ruth, watch this space for an African adventure!

Sunday:

Sunday 5th May 2013

Sunday 5th May 2013

The Good

Seeing some more friends from my Europe trip, who met and fell in love whilst we were away, in the romantic italian sunshine. I’m not at all jealous. It was so good to see them again, to see how things are going for them. And how exciting and terrifying it will one day be to be part of a couple. We chilled in Green Park, then grabbed Zizzis, ending with a maccy D’s toffee sundae. ‘Twas a good afternoon.

The Bad

Hanging out with couples is hard. It reminds you how very single you are.

The Unexpected

Having a headache, too much dust and love in the air.

3 thoughts on “Week 18: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Leave a Reply

