Week 17: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 22nd April 2013

Monday 22nd April 2013

The Good

Walking past Starbucks and being given a free coffee. And two vouchers for 50p off my favourite drink. I couldn’t have hoped for a better start to the week.

The Bad

Getting seriously enraged at Made in Chelsea. Spencer Matthews is a joke. An extremely unfunny joke.

The Unexpected

Getting offered another internship. And being asked to partake in a survey in the National Gallery only to discover that the lady asking me questions, was the mum of one of my primary school friends.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 23rd April 2013

Tuesday 23rd April 2013

The Good

Meeting Harlan Coben. In the flesh. And getting a free and personalised autographed copy of his book, Six Years. Another piece of fantastic fiction to add to my ever growing tower of books. Oh the joys of working in a publishing house!

The Bad

Having someone sit next to me on the train when there was a huge assortment of vacant seats available. There really is no need to sit next to me when the seat situation resembles a classroom at 3:15. Come on.

The Unexpected

I missed the traffic lights turning green because I was too busy staring at a man eating a Krispy Kreme doughnut. For a moment I contemplated tackling him to the ground to devour said doughnut, but I did resist the urge, you’ll all be relieved to know. Also Tesco Express do not sell ibuprofen. This was most unamusing, what does this shop actually sell?

Wednesday:

Wednesday 24th April 2013

Wednesday 24th April 2013

The Good

The Sun. A jacket-less lunch. Sunglasses and some extremely good music.

The Bad

The sea of tourists.

The Unexpected

Being inspired by a Mormon poster at the train station. I may not be a Mormon but I still find the following quite inspiring; ‘God may not lighten my load, but He will strengthen my back.’

Thursday:

Thursday 25th April 2013

Thursday 25th April 2013

The Good

Laughing my head off at Radio 1’s innuendo bingo. Going for a beverage or two with an old school friend/primary school boyfriend. And the prospect that I had friday off for my Mum’s 50th. Lie-in o’clock!

The Bad

Getting home a little later than I would have liked and having a hungry tummy. The later train resulted in befriending an old man and enduring the cries of young children as they screamed at buildings; not the normal response to English Architecture  Note to self: three years olds can be highly irritating.

The Unexpected

Feeling too hot to wear a blazer at 8:30 in the evening. Summer must be on her belated way.

Friday:

Friday 26th April 2013

Friday 26th April 2013

The Good

My Mum. Another year older, wiser and more beautiful. She really is my best friend, I don’t know what I would do without her. Without any of my family for that matter. As much as we argue, as dysfunctional as I feel we sometimes are, there are no other people I love more than the ones whose DNA I share.

The Bad

Eating far, far too much. And buying books that I really don’t need.

The Unexpected

Feeling exhausted after a family day at Lewes. Maybe it was the overload of food. Or the Bucks Fizz. Or the air. Whatever the cause, my eyes were fighting hard to stay open.

Saturday:

Saturday 27th April 2013

Saturday 27th April 2013

The Good

Witnessing a beautiful marriage. Having my haircut and feeling better with those weighty split ends banished from this head of mine.

The Bad

Feeling sad that marriage for me is but a dream at the moment. Welling up at the brides entrance, I thought that was the Grooms job. If I cry at a friends weddings, what will I be like at my sisters in a mere 4 months time? A fountain of salt water, most probably. Emosh.

The Unexpected

Having a quiet night in, the house to myself. Cooking, prawns, garlic, tagliatelle, a big glass of white wine and Never Been Kissed on the telly. All dressed up with my Kate Middleton-esque curly blow dry and absolutely nowhere to go.

Sunday:

Sunday 28th April 2013

Sunday 28th April 2013

The Good

Ice cream. Friends.

The Bad

Having my driving physically corrected. If someone takes the wheel from me again, I will not be held accountable for what may happen.

The Unexpected

Realising that it’s no good venting when I get home, I actually need to cross myself off the waiting list for a spine transplant and say something at the time. Then and there. Speaking up is most certainly on my to do list.

One thought on “Week 17: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Leave a Reply

