Week 16: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 15th April 2013

Monday 15th April 2013

The Good

Starting my new job.

The Bad

Oversleeping. Bigtime. Due to certain weekend events I’ve been unable to have a much needed lie-in for the past two weeks. So my body decided to go on strike, without my permission. So I’m meant to wake up at 7:15, but today I woke up with a huge gasp/scream as it dawned on me that the very air felt older, later, I could physically feel that I was no longer in the realms of the seventh hour of the day. No, it was 8:21am. And I had to get dressed, put my make-up on, sort out the birds nest that was my hair and literally run two miles down to the station. I just knew that I was going to be late. On my first day. So I ran like the wind, deciding to do my make up on the train, scaring the world with my I-overslept-face. I made the next train, rocking up to the office a grand total of 15 minutes late. Fortunately my colleagues had literally just arrived, so all was well. That was a close and unwelcome call.

The Unexpected

Being asked to pop to Covent Garden to measure wine labels. As you do.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 16th April 2013

Tuesday 16th April 2013

The Good

Emailing. And feeling like a young professional. Yuppie, over and out.

The Bad

Being trodden on during lunch. Maybe sitting on the steps at Trafalgar square isn’t such a good idea.

The Unexpected

Being far too tired for Zumba.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 17th April 2013

Wednesday 17th April 2013

The Good

Getting a mini lie-in and heading to the London Book Fair, which can only be described as publishing paradise.

The Bad

Feeling a little intimidated, out of place and lonely at the Book Fair. Each publisher had absolutely huge stalls, some with different levels and lots of tables and chairs and people chatting looking all professional and serious. I went to a few seminars, one was about digital enhancements in fiction such as apps and bonus material. It was quite boring after the first 40 minutes, so I left in favour of devouring my cheese and chorizo, highly calorific sandwich, remembering with each swallow just why I was glad that Uni lectures were a thing of the past.

The Unexpected

A distinct lack of freebies. Disappointing.

Thursday:

Thursday 18th April 2013

Thursday 18th April 2013

The Good

The weather until it rained. In my blazer and pumps I felt so much freer than in the confinements of my coat and boots.

The Bad

Today was the most stressful day I have had in a long time. It started off with being unable to locate any appletiser in London. After three shops I eventually found some, gasping ‘FINALLLY!’ at the site of them there on the shelves in Tesco’s, to the dismay of many surrounding customers. I bought six extra large bottles and had to carry them back to the office all by myself. I wasn’t overly impressed by this task, because these bottles were 1.25 litres each and carrying 7.5 litres on your own is probably more than I should have been carrying. Needless to say my arms and back are still feeling the effect on saturday morning. Later that afternoon, somebody asked my manager, and I quote, ‘can I borrow your intern to buy some juice?’ Immediately this put my back up because a) I am no longer an intern and b) I do not have a degree and/or desire to be a professional beverage locator, purchaser or deliverer. So back to Tesco’s I went (this time with help) to purchase about 9 cartoons of juice and an array of kettle chips. How about I stay at tescos all week and you just text me when you need something? And finally having to stay late, because I couldn’t get a 27 page guest blog to load. After spending 3 hours on it! I reached that levels of frustration where only screaming or crying like a loon will help.

The Unexpected

Sticking book cover labels onto wine bottles for an author event at Blackwells. Some of mine were shockingly wonky due to the tapering of the bottles but nobody will notice once they’ve had a few glasses. Oh cheeky!

Friday:

Friday 19th April 2013

Friday 19th April 2013

The Good

It being friday and the prospect of a lie in. Being saved a cookie from the event at Blackwells, I couldn’t attend on account of a job application I needed to complete.

The Bad

Finding it hard to concentrate.

The Unexpected

Making bucks fizz, putting posters up and crisps into bowls in preparation for an agents visit. Then being allowed to enjoy the bucks fizz, crisps and cake as well as some very fine conversation. Living the dream.

Saturday:

Saturday 20th April 2013

Saturday 20th April 2013

The Good

The mother of all lie ins. The sun. The niece. Cocktails with friends.

The Bad

Waiting in the cold for the bus to arrive.

The Unexpected

Watching an old man sing ‘razzledazzle’, whilst waving his walking stick in the air on the bus.

Sunday:

Sunday 21st April 2013

Sunday 21st April 2013

The Good

The sun and having church in an actual church; my church now has its own building, pictured above. Sitting on a deckchair in the sunny garden with the rents, then walking Gray C on her lead. Going to see The Host with one of my old housemates and bestest friends.

The Bad

Traffic interfering with our film time. Luckily after a detour we made it before the trailers ended.

The Unexpected

Crying at The Host. It was surprisingly brilliant.

Leave a Reply

