Week 15: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday: 

Monday 8th April 2013

Monday 8th April 2013

The Good

Getting an email from Walker books recommending me for a publishing job. I was touched that they thought of and remembered me. Establishing connections.

The Bad

Crying on the train at said email. I’m an emotional being.

The Unexpected

The email from Walker. Is that cheating?

Tuesday: 

Tuesday 9th April 2013

Tuesday 9th April 2013

The Good

Being asked to stay on at Orion Books for six weeks. As a paid employee. I was on cloud nine, giggling like a crazy fool. I had to refrain from doing my success dance until I was safely in the vicinity of my home.

The Bad

Having a fight with a roll of double-sided sticky tape. It didn’t end well for either of us. I ended up with considerably less arm hair and the majority of the roll of tape ended up in the bin.

The Unexpected

It would appear that the working brain cannot compute zumba moves.

Wednesday: 

Wednesday 10th April 2013

Wednesday 10th April 2013

The Good

Having my contract drawn up. Feeling like a working woman. Publishing progress at it’s finest. Determination and hard work pays off people!

The Bad

Getting to bed late. I’m very sleepy these days.

The Unexpected

Getting a free coffee in Trafalgar Square. Saved a few pennies.

Thursday: 

Thursday 11th April 2013

Thursday 11th April 2013

The Good

Meeting up with the housies for a re-UNI-ion and a celebratory drink or two and a big slice of dinner. We went to The Diner in Soho where we ingested burger a plenty and enjoyed a variety of fries. I had the Arch burger which involved pickles,  a 6oz beef patty and pulled pork. ‘Twas delish but not a patch on Byron.

The Bad

The cocktails I chose were a little disappointing. But it was happy hour, so it could have been worse. Also the waitress in The Diner failed to grasp the concept of mayonnaise and the important part in plays in a meal.

The Unexpected

Going down to the club area of Gem bar and finding a full on sit down dinner party. Needless to say we retreated back up the stairs pretty quickly.

Friday: 

Friday 12th April 2013

Friday 12th April 2013

The Good

Being given a bundle of books on my departure from the publicity department. Fortunately I had packed extremely light for my weekend away, so I wasn’t overloaded. A delightful flapjack and banter filled journey to Ashburnham for a Church weekend, topped of the day nicely.

The Bad

Having to leave the publicity department. Little sad to go but I’d be coming back on monday so that softened the blow.

The Unexpected

Feeling like I was back in Uni halls in my little single room at Ashburnham. Enjoying a lovely cup of tea, in a glass tea-cup of all things and a cheeky chapter or two of Evan Mandery’s ‘Q’, before switching the light out.

Saturday:

Saturday 13th April 2013

Saturday 13th April 2013

The Good

Breakfast. Need I say more.

The Bad

The endless, excessively wet rain. And the consequence that is mud. Plus non existent phone signal. All weekend.

The Unexpected

Developing a small but growing detestation for Cluedo. I can only think so hard for so long.

Sunday: 

Sunday 14th April 2013

Sunday 14th April 2013

The Good

The sun, fellowship and friends. A walk in the beautiful countryside, playing frisbee very vigorously with some Church peeps and a huge portion of fruity jelly. A gorgeous day.

The Bad

Wanting a little time to myself. I do like my space and a lie in. Neither of which I got this weekend, but the sacrifice was worth it.

The Unexpected

Feeling too hot in jeans for the first time in 9 long months.

Leave a Reply

