Week 11: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 11th March 2013

Monday 11th March 2013

The Good

Working in the Editorial department for a second time at Tiger, in their YA imprint, Stripes. Getting to proof read three of the books due to be published this year. Being there for the cake sale to raise money for comic relief, enjoying a slice of the above red velvet cake with my temporary editorial colleagues.

The Bad 

Feeling sick after the aforementioned red velvet; 11am is clearly too early for cake. I was also ill on the train home, I had to be picked up from the station by my Dad.

The Unexpected

Walking to the tube station, minding my own business along Munster Road when 2 of the stars (Binky and Louise) from Made in Chelsea (a hit UK reality TV series much like the Hills only English) walked past me.  I couldn’t believe it, it’s all very exciting working in London. ‘Tis the place to be!

Tuesday:

Tuesday 12th March 2013

Tuesday 12th March 2013

The Good

I was running late because of the silly buses and the traffic they bring but thankfully so were the trains. 6 minutes is a beautiful collection of second; it saved my bacon too.

The Bad 

Staring at a spread sheet all day. My eyes were practically bleeding.

The Unexpected

The tube wouldn’t stop at Victoria. So I found myself walking from St James Park to Victoria station, it was surprisingly delightful and I dawdled down a street named after me.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 13th March 2013

Wednesday 13th March 2013

The Good

The lovely crisp weather. A meeting in Hammersmith at Costa with a lady who runs the Cheltenham Literary Festival. Getting a free regular hazelnut latte with plenty of foam. Feeling grown up and even more certain that publishing is what I want to do.

The Bad 

Scaring myself with the thought that the publishing industry is going to die shortly. That bookshops will be next to close after music shops and paper will be a thing of the past. My worst nightmare.

The Unexpected

Getting lost after leaving my church community group and getting genuinely angry with the sat nav because I was driving around in circles and it was incredibly late.

Thursday:

Thursday 14th March 2013

Thursday 14th March 2013

The Good

Buying three toothbrushes for a grand total of £1.70! Bargain!

The Bad 

Cooking shortbread as a thank you to Tiger Press, but burning the batch slightly as Gray C’s bad behaviour distracted me from the culinary task at hand.

The Unexpected

Burning my hand on the handle of the kettle. We need a new water boiling device ASAP.

Friday:

Friday 15th March 2013

Friday 15th March 2013

The Good

Finishing all my work experience tasks. There I was tidying up the desk I’d occupied for the last 2 weeks which caused great surprise and awe from the staff. Apparently most interns leave the desk in disarray, clearly most interns are lazy and don’t really want a job. Unlike me. Leave something as you’d like to find it, I say.

The Bad 

Having to leave I guess. (Although I didn’t cry leaving this internship, I was preoccupied with getting home to several beers, a baked potato, my body weight in chocolate, Comic relief and the house all to myself. Peace. ) Actually I have just remembered the bad in Friday. It involved a man picking his nose, an incorrectly labelled tube, rain and the longest journey in the history of mankind.

The Unexpected

Getting very emotional about Comic relief, crying my heart out into the hole of my sat-on-original-glazed-krispy-kreme. I am incredibly blessed and it shouldn’t have taken me this long to realise it.

Saturday:

Saturday 16th March 2013

Saturday 16th March 2013

The Good

Going to London with my friends and spotting the infamous Russell Brand. What a babe! Oh and the beauty of Maccy D’s Quarter Pounder WITH CHEEEEEEESEEEEE! You can’t eat when you’re dead.

The Bad 

The rain and feeling utterly exhausted.

The Unexpected

Briefly watching a Russian concert in Trafalgar square.

Sunday:

Sunday 17th March 2013

Sunday 17th March 2013

The Good

Having absolutely nowhere to go. Yorkshire puddings, the niece and Disney’s Frog Princess.

The Bad 

Having a high temperature on Saturday night. Waking up sweating as if I were sleeping in a Volcano, tearing my pj’s off and then shivering like a cold thing when the fever had passed. I also had the weirdest dreams ever, you’d have thought I’d been feasting on cheese all day. Crazy. Feeling utterly exhausted on Sunday, literally unable to move and acquiring the mother of all headaches.

The Unexpected

My Dad’s pastry. Awful. He attempted to make an apple pie, it turned out like an apple Quiche, neither components (apples or pastry) had sugar in them. I didn’t think it was capable for my Father to fail in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

