Week 10: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 4th March 2013

Monday 4th March 2013

The Good

Starting my internship. Filling up my flask with a piping hot cup of tea and heading to the station for two weeks of publishing pleasure.

The Bad

Getting up earlier than I would have ideally liked.

The Unexpected

Feeling really at ease so quickly on my first day. It was quite refreshing. Oh and signing up to attend the London Book Fair in April. For free!

Tuesday:

Tuesday 5th March 2013

Tuesday 5th March 2013

The Good

Taking pictures in the sunshine on my lunch break; feeling delightfully springlike.

The Bad

Being late on my second day. Shameful.

The Unexpected

Walking to the tube station with a temporary colleague, trying hard to memorize her shortcut.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 6th March 2013

Wednesday 6th March 2013

The Good

Sitting in on a Marketing and Sales meeting, letting all the publishing shorthand and jargon fill my ears; breathing it in. And having something useful to contribute in regard to the Guardian Children’s Literature prize. I did my research.

The Bad

Spreadsheets and everything about them. Cells hurt my eyes. Oh and I now know that I never ever want an apple Mac. I detest them. Strongly.

The Unexpected

Going for a walk on my lunch break and encountering a rather bold male chav who shouted, ‘Ooooh. You’re gorgeous, you are!’ in my face, slowing down as I passed him, looking me up and down. He then proceeded to shout after me to turn around, needless to say I did not oblige as charming as he was. Not. I felt a little intimated so I hid in a card shop for about 10 minutes under the guise of locating a Mother’s Day card which I had vowed to make myself for free.

Thursday:

Thursday 7th March 2013

Thursday 7th March 2013

The Good

Researching party venues/bars in London for an author partaaaay. Twas very interesting and now I know where to hang out when I actually have money. I felt like a little events organiser and recorded my findings in a detailed Powerpoint presentation for easy reference.

The Bad

Being tired from all this commuting. 4 hours a day! 4 WHOLE HOURS!

The Unexpected

Seeing a man at the station sporting a brown leather crocodile Dundee hat complete with smart suit and rucksack. Quite frankly he looked the dogs wotsits and I should have married him there and then. I jest. I hid my onslaught of giggles by pretending to choke on my home-brewed tea.

Friday:

Friday 8th March 2013

Friday 8th March 2013

The Good

Getting to work in editorial for the afternoon. Pouring over manuscript submissions and writing constructive rejection letters. It was brilliant, editorial is amazeballs. Right up my alley.

The Bad

Having to think about good things to say about books sent in that were beyond terrible. It was trying.

The Unexpected

Having a delightful evening with my two lovely friends. Drinking beer in The Folly, venting, laughing, reminiscing, rating our old teachers and enjoying one of the best burgers I have ever eaten (believe me there has been many a burger in my lifetime) and being amazed that my friend actually retraced his steps in order to watch a drunken man get loaded into an ambulance.  It was a hilarious and unexpected eve which I thoroughly enjoyed. The end to a good working week.

Saturday:

Saturday 9th March 2013

Saturday 9th March 2013

The Good

Having a delicious lie in.

The Bad

Eating the soggy chips that my Dad had cooked me on Friday. He made me eat the tea that I made him save and didn’t eat, on account of the burgers. Everyone loves wet chips, don’t they?

The Unexpected

Going up to London to see the old housemates and not spending a penny. I came up just after they’d eaten so there was no need for any further purchases and despite their shopping, I resisted.

Sunday:

Sunday 10th March 2013

Sunday 10th March 2013

The Good

Getting the chance to be arty, drawing the afternoon away with my sister and Sophie next to me. Making a cake. Eating the cake. The raw one and the cooked one. Enjoying a glass of wine and the final episode of Call the Midwife.

The Bad

Getting up early for church to help on the welcome team, feeling a bit awkward and wishing I hadn’t volunteered so soon. Me and my big mouth.

The Unexpected

Learning that if you double a cake mixture you get quite a large cake. I know its hard to believe. Shocking stuff.

Leave a Reply

