Week 9: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 25th February 2013

Monday 25th February 2013

The Good

Knowing that this was the last Monday before my internship starts at Little Tiger Press.

The Bad 

Having to clean the toilets.

The Unexpected

Going for a walk with the sister, Lucy and ending up in the library reading to Sophie, as pictured above.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 26th February 2013

Tuesday 26th February 2013

The Good

Zumba. It was good to get out of the house and laugh with/at meine Schwester.

The Bad 

Nearly falling over in the warm down at Zumba, unlike the flamingo I cannot balance on one leg.

The Unexpected

Mocking one of the dance moves and being praised for it. ‘Yeah, that’s it! Perfect, do it again so everyone can see!’ So embarrassing, luckily my fellow Zumba-ers are all middle-aged mum’s.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 27th February 2013

Wednesday 27th February 2013

The Good

Planning for my dinner party on Friday. Flicking through numerous cook books, old, new, most covered in dust in search of the perfect meal to prepare for my friends.

The Bad 

Loosing my iPod. I was distraught at not being able to find the beloved device that holds my many theme songs. You would have thought I’d lost a child the way I was carrying on.

The Unexpected

My Mum found my iPod, down the middle of the sofa, the one that Gray C chewed a hole in. It was right at the very bottom. I was so incredibly relieved.

Thursday:

Thursday 28th February 2013

Thursday 28th February 2013

The Good

I finished my holiday prep for a spectacular holiday with my friends this summer in Spain. I formulated a power point ready for their perusal at my Dinner Partaaaay, complete with animation and YouTube clip.

The Bad 

I popped to Sainsburies to purchase my dinner partaaay ingredients. This wasn’t bad, I actually felt very domesticated and realised how much I had missed food shopping. What was bad was the fact that I needed 500g of ricotta cheese for the raspberry cheesecake I was planning to make. I located one 250g pot but that was all they had left. I asked if they happened to have anymore, but no one would check. Instead I was met with a tut and the words, ‘Not at this time of night.’ I’m sorry but it was half past eight in the evening, not 3:3o am. Don’t keep your shop open if buying curds and whey is out of the question.

The Unexpected

Conquering the huge lift on my own. I hate lifts, on account of getting stuck in one twice. As this was the only way into and out of Sainsburies from the car park, I forced myself in. My eyes may have been closed and I may have been humming, ‘Oh when the saints go marching in’ very loudly, but I did it.

Friday:

Friday 1st March 2013

Friday 1st March 2013

The Good

Cooking for my lovely friends and enjoying a meal together. Being given a lovely bunch of flowers, a delightful bottle of wine and sipping a desperados with a lemon rather than a lime twist.

The Bad 

A man was coming to redo our kitchen floor. He was meant to come at 12. He came at 2:30. I wasn’t impressed. I had cooking to do.

The Unexpected

My cheesecake had blue edges. It was made with lemons and raspberries, ‘neither of which are blue?’ I have never found a blue pudding so amusing.

Saturday:

Saturday 2nd March 2013

Saturday 2nd March 2013

The Good

Having a delicious meal at a restaurant called Giraffe. The funny thing is that I ate there last Saturday after One Direction. I ordered exactly the same thing, it was much better in the Bluewater branch than the Stratford one. The ‘hand crafted roll’ had clearly been crafted by more appropriate hands the second time around.

The Bad 

Arguing with my sister. A lot. Which consequently ‘disappointed’ the parents.

The Unexpected

Looking after Sophie while my Mum and Sister got phone upgrades with my Dad in EE. I had to change Sophie’s nappy in the mother and baby bit of the toilets. Which was interesting not to mention smelly, those nappy bins are grim. Also if you take a baby out of a pushchair that has loads of bags on the back, it will fall over. And people will look at you with complete and utter disdain.

Sunday:

Sunday 3rd March 2013

Sunday 3rd March 2013

The Good

Going to church and changing my bed sheets: nothing beats the feeling of slipping into a warm, clean, crisp bed.

The Bad 

Having a minor panic about my lack of job. Having the mother of all headaches. Having my holiday plans thwarted by the practicalities of money. How I hate the stuff. But we shall see the sun this year.

The Unexpected

Nearly driving into a tram. And having and idiotic chav run out in front of me on a busy, not to mention dark road. Next time you do that sweetcheeks, soak that track suit of yours in glow in the dark paint. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

