Week 8: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 18th February 2013

Monday 18th February 2013

The Good

Going for a walk in the absolutely gorgeous spring like weather.

The Bad

Realising that Gray C is far from a dwarf rabbit. She is a cat with long ears and a short tale.

The Unexpected

Going to visit a lady who looks after rabbits while people go on holiday, to check out her facilities. It was amazing, she knows exactly how to look after rabbits, has two of her own and has a variety of large indoor enclosures that Gray C will love. If I go away and leave her there, she will not want to come home.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 19th February 2013

Tuesday 19th February 2013

The Good

Researching a holiday in Portugal that I cannot afford but will most definitely be amazing. Getting excited about venturing to a foreign land with good friends, a suitcase crammed full of beach attire and the prospect of too many cocktails.

The Bad

My eyes hurt a lot after starring at a computer all day and reading about holiday villas.

The Unexpected

Really enjoying the beginning of Francine Rivers, Lineage of Grace; Tamar had it hard.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 20th February 2013

Wednesday 20th February 2013

The Good

Visiting some family friends, who I am going to a One Direction concert with on Saturday (I am that cool.) Eating a lot of homemade cake and devouring a jacket potato stuffed with tuna mayo; ’twas good! Also driving past my old school (pictured above) and acknowledging how far my Sister and I have come, since the days of the royal blue blazer.

The Bad

A long and traffic ridden drive. I think I spent about an hour and a half in the car today. Stressful.

The Unexpected

They had these delicious toffee waffle things (that Starbucks sell) at my church community group this week. At first I drank my cup of tea, keeping temptation at bay, trying hard to resist the urge to eat another sweet treat. ‘No, I will not eat one. I cannot possibly be hungry, I’ve just had dinner. Think of your thighs Rebecca. You’ll regret it.’ I said all this to myself, but I gave in. This was not unexpected. What was unexpected was how good eating something I shouldn’t have eaten, actually tasted.

Thursday:

Thursday 21st February 2013

Thursday 21st February 2013

The Good

Going to a lovely pub for a bite to eat with my sister, Sophie and ex-housemate. It was such a cool place, decked out in vintage furniture and wallpaper. I loved it and may have had a little crush on the barman, who was very accommodating and chatty. Our eyes met across the bar…and then he went out for a cigarette and my interest vanished. He gave us freshly made popcorn in one of those amazing glass beer mugs that I love (I bought 4 for a £1 in a charity shop in Canterbury, they sit in my sisters cupboards now), which we nibbled while we sipped our tea, fed Sophie and waited for our chips to arrive. I loved it there, I will be going back very soon.

The Bad

My old housemate was very discouraging about my career choice and the progress I’m making, or rather not making. Being told that my internships were a waste of time and that I needed to swallow my pride and just get a job, bounced off my happy disposition initially but when she told me to give her my CV so she could apply to jobs for me, I couldn’t help but feel insulted. I didn’t know at the time how much these comments would affect me later.

The Unexpected

Crying in the car on the way to the Harvester. When someone tells you they can’t imagine you in an interview and laughs in your face, it tends to have that affect on you.

Friday:

Friday 22nd February 2013

Friday 22nd February 2013

The Good

Seeing my lovely friend Maria and enjoying a morning together in a sweet little coffee shop/restaurant called Cut the Mustard. As well as a wander around town and a visit to my sister and Sophie. Oh and the prospect of helping my local library with a YA reading group.

The Bad

Being really, really tired and feeling fed up and sorry for my unemployed self in the evening. It just so happened that a hot chocolate made by Lucy with whipped cream and making One Direction posters was the perfect way to feel more like myself again.

The Unexpected

Having to ask for my cake at Cut the Mustard. The waitress was stood behind the counter, starring into space while my cake just sat there on the side for about 10 minutes before I dared to wave at her and say, ‘Could I have my cake please?’

Saturday:

Saturday 23rd February 2013

Saturday 23rd February 2013

The Good

Going to the O2 to see the wonderful One Direction. Yes, One Direction. I don’t care what you think, I like them. Admittedly I wouldn’t have paid to see them but I was thankful for my free ticket, the company and the experience. They performed amazingly and were hilarious and I am now even more in love with Louis Tomlinson, which is allowed considering he is 21 and so am I. So there. I am now addicted to there songs. And what?

The Bad

The Circle line wasn’t running from Westminster.

The Unexpected

Instead of panicking about the Circle lines closure – even though my phone battery was on its last legs so I couldn’t use it to find a route through my app – I calmly consulted the map and found my way with ease. I hopped back on the Jubilee line, got off at Green Park and made my way to Victoria, managing to walk onto my train home with 5 minutes to spare. Feeling rather proud of myself and incredibly mature, I settled myself down in a seat, stretched out my legs and listened to One Direction. London – 0, Becca – 1. Oh yeah. I was born to commute.

Sunday:

Sunday 24th February 2013

Sunday 24th February 2013

The Good

Lying in. Curling my hair and having a lovely time at the pub with my friendls.

The Bad

I didn’t feel too splendid in the morning so I stayed in bed and didn’t go to church.

The Unexpected

Enjoying homemade Coq au Vin more than I had anticipated.

One thought on “Week 8: The good, the bad and the unexpected

  1. It is a great relief to find somewhere where you can leave your pets whilst on holiday and have a peace of mind! I am veru jealous of your lovely spring like weather…i feel like I have not seen the sun for months!!! Which is probably true…

Leave a Reply

