Week 7: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 11th February 2013

Monday 11th February 2013

The Good

Sudoku. And lots of it.

The Bad

Sitting directly below a draft in Starbucks; twas a tad chilly.

The Unexpected

Being told to leave Starbucks because it was closing. Certainly didn’t expect that. The manager scared the life out of me, bringing me reluctantly out of my Sudoku reverie.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 12th February 2013

Tuesday 12th February 2013

The Good

Getting up early and walking to Starbucks with the Mother. It was good to lug myself up a hill, the heavy cloud of sleep wearing of gradually.

The Bad

Spending my whole morning blogging rather than applying for a Penguin Books Internship. Naughty, I could feel myself writing more and more, just to put off doing anther boring application. But it is done now!

The Unexpected

I offered to cook my parents dinner. Spagbol, seemed simple enough. Until it came to cooking the spaghetti. I pulled the bag of pasta out of the jar, went to open the packet, unaware that the other end had already been opened and I was holding it the wrong way. Needless to say – as the above picture illustrates so perfectly – the entire packet went all over the floor. So I knelt down and played a delightful game of pasta pick up sticks. Then I cooked it and we all had a healthy helping of floor pasta. Nothing better.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 13th February 2013

Wednesday 13th February 2013

The Good

Seeing my lovely friend Hannah, who came down from Canterbury to visit me. We went to Pizza Express because it was Orange Wednesday, which means buy one get one free. I do love a bargain-ious luncheon. ‘Twas delicious and we chatted away to our hearts were content, then adjourned to my house, for a good old cup of tea. I wanted to show Hannah, Gray C, my not-so-little bunny, because she had been there when I had bought her back in June. The first thing she did was laugh. Hysterically. Because she could not believe how big she had gotten. I was clearly mis-sold Gray C because although Pets at Home assured me that she was a dwarf English lop, she clearly isn’t. She is about the same size as a cat. But I love her regardless of size, we’d both like to be smaller!

The Bad

A junction debacle. Some builder completely cut me up in his grubby white van because he wasn’t looking. My life flashed before my eyes and I was consequently too bewildered to honk my horn.

The Unexpected

Finding that my Mum had eaten the last of the chicken coronation, that my Dad had made to jazz up my unemployed lunch times. I was unexpectedly distraught when I saw that the container it temporarily lived in was completely empty; bar one sprig of coriander. I was really looking forward to it and I reacted a little like Ross did when his work colleague ate his thanksgiving sandwich, the one with the moist maker.

My mum ‘…ate the only good thing going on in my life!’ I specifically asked her if I could have it for my tea, ‘Oh yes, yes’ she replied. Little did I know. Disappointing.

Thursday:

Thursday 14th February 2013 <3

Thursday 14th February 2013 ❤

The Good

Having a lovely Valentines Day with my old Housemate. Baking the afternoon away and laughing. Stuffing my face with double cream, jam and lashings of icing.

The Bad

We watched half of ‘This is 40’ but had to stop because it was so awful. Ridiculously bad. Shockingly terrible. Do no watch it, it is horrendous, it  has zero story line and moves at the pace of a 95-year-old snail on slow tablets. You would be more entertained watching paint dry. Honestly. I also can’t stand that actress in it, she is so sarcastic and unpleasant and always plays the same disillusioned, bitter and down right irritating characters. Leslie Mann, I’m not a fan.

The Unexpected

Feeling really sleepy. Note to self: clearly overeating and watching crap films is the sleep enhancer I need.

Friday:

Friday 15th February 2013

Friday 15th February 2013

The Good

Seeing Sophie and Lucille for the day. We went to the library and I read to Sophie, who seemed transfixed by the pages. I can’t wait until she can talk.

The Bad

I discovered that it is surprisingly difficult to drive with hand cream on. Slippery business.

The Unexpected

Walking through the high street into a Barclay’s Bank promotion event. Some of the staff were dressed up in bizarre costumes and dancing like crazy fools to a number of hit songs. It was ab-so-lutely hil-ar-ious! I was laughing away until they started a conga line.  I hissed, ‘Quick’ to Lucy and we reversed the buggy back and got out of there asap, into the safe haven of Starbucks.

Saturday:

Saturday 16th February 2013

Saturday 16th February 2013

The Good

Helping Lucy and Henry move house. They’d found somewhere delightful and much closer to us, within walking distance actually. So it will be free and easy to get to. All six of us sat spaciously in the lounge and ate fish and chips after a very hard days work of packing up and cleaning their old place; the place that served them well for the first six months of Sophie’s little life. Sophie was incredibly well-behaved while Lucy and I packed up their bedroom. She sat there in her bumbo (a foam baby seat) laughing at me and Lucy singing to ‘Teenage Dirtbag’ and ‘Beating heart baby’; she loves our actions.

The Bad

Having to rush around like a headless chicken and scraping what looked like a fried egg off of a cupboard with a knife.

The Unexpected

Discovering that cocktail quality and taste varies depending on who makes it. Strawberry Daiquiri’s are quite superb as is reminiscing with girls you have lived with for the past three years.

Sunday:

Sunday 17th February 2013

Sunday 17th February 2013

The Good

Croissants in bed, with apricot jam. Going to Church, having a lovely girl sit next to me, who happens to live down the road from me and who currently goes to Canterbury Christchurch University; like I did. People can be quite lovely sometimes. Coming home and going for a gorgeous, long walk with my friend Abi for company, courtesy of my mobile phone. Nothing like a brisk walk in February sunshine and a chin wag.

The Bad

I actually cannot think of anything bad about today. How wonderfully refreshing!

The Unexpected

I hadn’t realised that seeing the sun rear its sleepy head would make me so excited for all that summer holds. Which is mainly a tan.

Leave a Reply

