Week 6: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday: 

Monday 4th February 2013

Monday 4th February 2013

The Good

A Hazelnut Latte. A Pen. A rather large wad of Paper. And thoughts finally appearing on a page.

The Bad

Cigarette smoke ruining my Starbucks experience.

The Unexpected

The Police warning a haughty lad outside the toilet I was in. Awkward.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 5th February 2013

Tuesday 5th February 2013

The Good

Going for a bracing walk in the cold. Feeling that flush of cold in my cheeks, turning them a deep shade of crimson, the healthiest blusher available.

The Bad

Getting indigestion. The walk was so long and cold that I developed and insatiable appetite and ate far too fast. Ouchy.

The Unexpected

Finding an armchair on someones lawn. Going to a Church meeting and have an unexpectedly good time. Someone saved me a seat and I felt part of something. Something good and exciting.

Wednesday:

Wednesday 6th February 2013

Wednesday 6th February 2013

The Good

Seeing Lucy and Sophie for the day and the idea of sharing Eggs Benedict from Patisserie Valerie.

The Bad

The service in Patisserie Valerie was appalling. We came in and had to seat ourselves. There were no menus on the table and no one served us. So I had to go up to the till area to pick up a menu and make my order. Talk about self-service, do I have to make it too? I was served by the surliest middle-aged woman imaginable, who asked if I wanted cream on the hot chocolates to which I replied, ‘Oh yes please’. I had already worked out that the bill should come to £11.50; Lucy and I had worked it out and I had the exact change. But the total came to £12.80. This immediately confused me so I rushed back to the table we had seated ourselves at and asked Lucy to locate some more change. It was only because of her refusal and questioning of this extra money that we realised we had been charged £1.30 for two sprays of cream. I couldn’t believe this, I was outraged. I could buy a whole can of crappy processed squirty cream for £1.30. And quite frankly I refused to pay it because the service and general attitude of these vile, ungrateful people behind the counter disgusted me. So I protested it. I said ‘But why do I have to pay £1.30 for cream? Are you telling me that it’s 65p a squirt?’ Another colleague had stepped in now, younger and even more annoying, ‘Yeah, that’s just how much it is.’ ‘Right. But I didn’t know it would cost that much,’ I replied. ‘Do you want me to take it off for you?’ She asked, her expression pained as though removing the whipped cream was comparable to building a pyramid, alone, in the hot Egyptian sand with no hands. ‘ Yes. Yes I do.’

She looked at the hot chocolates, waved her hands and said (and I quote) ‘Oh whatever, I can’t be bothered, just have it.’ My mouth fell open in shock. I just couldn’t believe that these people hated working in Patisserie Valerie this much. That they had such irritation and general disinterest in the running of the place and the impression they gave to customers. I want a job so very much and I can’t get one. For some perverse reason, I am still unemployed. I could do their job so much better than them. They work in a bloody cake shop and still they have faces like sour lemons rotting in a fruit bowl. I had a job where I actually cleaned up crap, I saw all sorts of horrendous wounds and disease; fighting back more heaves and tears then they’ve had hot dinners. And I did it all with a smile on my face, love in my heart and genuine kindness, sincere care and compassion. Yes, on the odd day I got fed up, I moaned etc, I’m human. But I never treated anyone with disdain. People like these women make me so intolerably angry. Angry with the sort of anger that involves high fiving someone. In the face. With a chair. I jest, I would never do that. But still, people are so unbelievably rude these days, there isn’t an ounce of empathy or sincerity in them and I can’t stand it.

In fact as we left the so-called restaurant, I told my sister to wait. I turned around and walked back, locating the pen in my bag whilst I retraced my steps. I reached our table, grabbed my serviette and wrote the words, ‘The service here is shocking. I am very disappointed indeed.’ I left it facing up clearly visible to whoever cleans the table or the next punters. I will be writing a very strongly worded letter to Patisserie Valerie very soon indeed.

Ok. Breathe. Rant over. Forgive me for my outburst.

The Unexpected

Finding some extremely cute baby clothes on sale in numerous shops. Love a good bargain.

Thursday:

Thursday 7th February 2013

Thursday 7th February 2013

The Good

Going to Starbucks with my Mum and treating her to a beverage. Because she’s my mum and I love her. Reading the Hunger Games whilst she studied and feeling glad that my studying is well and truly done. Down with essays!

The Bad

Having cold arms on the walk home because I wore my gilet.

The Unexpected

Coming home to Dad’s homemade burgers. What every girl needs after a long, cold walk. Deeeelicious.

Friday:

Friday 8th February 2013

Friday 8th February 2013

The Good

Danny Wallace. Awkward situations for men that aren’t really all that awkward. A cold coors light. And the promise of the weekend.

The Bad

Going to bed too late.

The Unexpected

Feeling depressed after watching Dreams of a life. No one should die alone and lie unfound for 3 years. Tragic.

Saturday:

Saturday 9th February 2013

Saturday 9th February 2013

The Good

Looking after Sophie with my Dad for the day and getting her a Library card. Then playing scrabble with my friends in the pub. What a sophisticated Saturday eve.

The Bad

Lucy didn’t pack the waterproofs for Sophie’s pram, so I spent the entire afternoon shielding her from the raindrops.

The Unexpected

Buying a huge picture of Paris, reduced from £15 to £12. I loved it and just couldn’t resist. I really should have because my bank account protested slightly. Also people kept asking me how old my daughter was, which resulted in the awkward moment of me explaining that she’s actually my niece.

Sunday:

Sunday 10th February 2013

Sunday 10th February 2013

The Good

Being brave. Going to a church lunch on my own and getting to know people. Really interesting people including a children’s illustrator, a theatre manager and a published historian. Feeling happy that I didn’t go home which would have been easier but nowhere near as lovely.

The Bad

Going to bed late again, despite actually being tired. Continuous episodes of Frasier and a book of Sudoku is a recipe for prolonging a much needed visit to the land of nod.

The Unexpected

Sophie squeezing my face and scratching my lip with her tiny nails. It was surprisingly painful.

Leave a Reply

