Week 5: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 28th January 2013

Monday 28th January 2013

The Good

Applying for more work experience including Little Tiger Press. Mum coming home from work early for our Vicar’s funeral so that we ended up spending the afternoon together; walking, drinking Starbucks and pottering around the charity shops. She treated me to a gorgeous maroon velvet blazer and a tall Vanilla Spiced Latte. Lovely.

The Bad

I felt really fed up today. Like giving up this dream of a career and settling for something, anything else. The application for Tiger Press was exasperating to say the least, it wouldn’t accept my CV, saying it was the wrong file type. And my cover letter was too many characters, what is this twitter? It was safe to say I had a frustrated lump in my throat and I wanted to cry.

The Unexpected

Mum made me a scrummy lunch and eventually Little Tiger Press accepted my application for work experience.

Tuesday:

Tuesday 29th January 2013

Tuesday 29th January 2013

The Good

Re-energising my second-hand, Ebay bargain of a bureau with something as simple as wrapping paper. I am so chuffed with the result!

The Bad

Wasting the day looking at my bureau, reluctant to apply for any more internships or jobs.

The Unexpected

Getting an email from Little Tiger Press. Offering me a placement. In March. In the Marketing and Publicity department. When I applied yesterday for the editorial department. Which was full. So rather than ignoring my request they gave me another placement, the one that I wanted all along. Just amazeballs.  ‘Hang in there. It is astonishing how short a time it can take for very wonderful things to happen.’ – Frances Hodgson Burnett. Never has this quote rung so true.

Wednesday:

The Good

Seeing Sophie in all her squishy glory. She really is too cute, hence why there are two pictures above, as I really couldn’t decide which one to use. We had a lovely morning at the mother and baby group and I somehow managed to get up and out of bed at 6:50am to drive my Mum to work so I could have the car for the day.

The Bad

Changing two poo-ey nappies. Not pleasant. Especially as Sophie is eating now. Human poo alert, it’s like being at work again.

The Unexpected

Getting majorly lost on the way to cell group. I mean walking around in the dark lost because the road these people live on is an unmade road. Only four by fours could venture forth. I eventually found my way. Half an hour later. Embarrassing.

Thursday:

Thursday 31st January 2013

Thursday 31st January 2013

The Good

Making myself an egg mayo bagel. The best sandwich filling next to prawns and parma ham.

The Bad

My bagel shrunk in the toaster. And it was burnt. Sandwich fail.

The Unexpected

Staying in my pajamas all day long. I am gross sometimes. And unbelievably lazy every now and again.

Friday:

Friday 1st February 2013

Friday 1st February 2013

The Good

Spending a cosy morning with Little Gray C. I stroked her ears whilst she licked my hand; we are the best of friends.

The Bad

Whilst stroking those ears I looked up and clocked a rather bold and brassy fox sleeping in the garden. I could hardly put my bunny outside, now could I? I crept up to take the above photo of him, he didn’t notice me at first but after several clicks, his eyes flickered open, he stared at me, fright evident in those young eyes and then ran off. Disappointing morning of fox photography.

The Unexpected

Having a chocolate banana for pudding courtesy of the rents and their culinary expertise. The hot substantial consistency of the banana and the sweet, malleable spreading of chocolate reminded me of the glorious promise of summer and how much I long for all it brings with it.

Saturday:

Saturday 2nd February 2013

Saturday 2nd February 2013

The Good

Going to meet my friends for a lovely afternoon and evening spent catching up in London. We wandered around, eavesdropped on a Harry Potter tour, enjoyed a hot chocolate in Patisserie Valerie, followed by a stronger beverage, followed by a delightful dinner in Prezzo.

The Bad

The tube was a nightmare and I was 20 minutes late, despite leaving ample time to get there. Oh and I almost forgot about being harassed on the train by some male chavs who thought it was funny to blow second-hand air on my head and point their mobile speakers blaring so called music in the gap between the chairs in front and behind me. I nearly had a heart attack because through that thin gap between the chairs, the speaker looked remarkably like a gun. The youth of today are vile.

The Unexpected

After finishing our meal at Prezzo, a magician appeared as if by magic and then proceeded to guess my friends boyfriends name, started a controlled fire, shuffled cards like a maniac and moved cards despite hands holding them down. Somehow my friends ring got from her finger to his key ring and a card that I ripped in quarters remarkably reformed and he shook the creases out of it so it was pristine and crisp; as good as new. I was flabbergasted. He was amazing.

Sunday:

Sunday 3rd February 2013

Sunday 3rd February 2013

The Good

Church. And the potential husband I spotted. Let’s hope that ring isn’t of the wedding variety.

The Bad

Regretting not staying on for the church lunch. All day. I should have gone. But eating with strangers is awkward sometimes. Too much can go wrong. I could have choked for goodness sake.

The Unexpected

Being unable to put the Hunger Games down and falling in love with my Kindle. It was its perks. I seem to fall in love with inanimate objects all to often.

Leave a Reply

