A creative day indeed

Money is not my friend at the moment, it actually gives me palpitations thinking about the amount sitting in my bank account that has to last me for the foreseeable future. But its a lesson I suppose. I’m learning that although I don’t have a lot of disposable income I do have a huge amount of stuff. Some of which I should start selling. But that requires effort and approaching the shed to organise said stuff into endless categories and piles. And to that I say no thank you.

So I am wearing the clothes that line my wardrobe instead of buying new ones. I am walking in the shoes that haven’t been worn in so long that a mouse has nested in them, raising a family of baby mice in the scent of muffled Wotsits. Nice.

I am using what I have and being creative with all my junk.

Notebooks are something I always neglect and toss aside. If I write something I don’t like inside them, like an angry letter to one of the many boys who have broken my heart, then I tend to develop a strong disliking towards those particular wads of paper and any inspiration is blocked by the undeniable ink scribbles on the first few pages. I have about twenty half-written in notebooks. No word of a lie.

So in an effort to salvage the potential of the paper unwritten upon I have given one notebook a new lease of life. And I will be using it as a blog book, to jot down any potential post ideas that I have. Wonderful. I decided to cover this notebook (because I literally hated the cheap Wilkinson childish design on the front) with magazine clippings which I glued on in collage format with the amazing deco-page glue. And now I feel inspired to pick up my pen and fill those pages. When the glue is dry of course.

My new decopaged notebook.

My recycled decopaged notebook.

Before this crafty exploit I replaced my bureau writing top; changing it from the old original brown leather (at least I think it was leather) that was breaking everyday that I used it, to a new, more exciting cover. This cover is a sheet of Penguin Book wrapping paper that I bought from John Lewis ages ago and cut to size.

If you happen to have a bureau and you want to create a similar effect then here is a list of what you will need for this crafty exploit.

1) A bureau (goes without saying really)

2) Some fancy paper that gets your creative juices flowing. And perhaps an iron to iron it depending on how creased it may be. Not too hot mind.

3) Decopage glue which I am pretty sure you can get from most craft shops

4) A brush to apply your glue

5) A guillotine (of the paper cutting variety, I tend to steer clear of the beheading sort) or sharp scissors

6) A ruler

7) A pencil

8) Sandpaper and a block to wrap it around

9) A vacuum cleaner (Is it just me or does anybody else find Vax vacuum cleaners ridiculously hard to use?)

10)Patience and lots of elbow grease

The original bureau top. Classy but dogeared, it's time for a change.

The original bureau top. Classy but dog-eared, it’s time for a change.

Tatty McTat

Tatty McTat

Step 1) Ironing my paper of choice

Step 1) Ironing my paper of choice (on a low heat)

Step 2) Looking a bit worse for wear as I peeled off the dog ears.

Step 2) Looking a bit worse for wear as I peeled off the dog ears.

Step 3) It took a while and a lot of elbow grease to sand this down.

Step 3) It took a while and a lot of elbow grease to sand this down.

Step 4) Vacuuming up the crums. I'm sorry Vax, but how the hell is a girl supposed to work the vacuum hose? After half an hour of playing with the hoover I gave up and vacuumed my bureau as if it was the floor...crazy.

Step 4) Vacuuming up the crums. I’m sorry Vax, but how the hell is one supposed to work the vacuum hose? After half an hour of playing with the hoover I gave up and vacuumed my bureau as if it was the floor…crazy.

Step 5) After much sanding the surface became lovely and smooth, almost ready for the new cover.

Step 5) After much sanding the surface became lovely and smooth, almost ready for the new cover.

Smooth as silk

Smooth as silk

Step 6) Time for the guillotine...a paper one of course. And une regle.

Step 6) Time for the guillotine…a paper one of course. And une regle.

Step 7) Make sure your paper is cut to the exact size, or as exact as you can get it.

Step 7) Make sure your paper is cut to the exact size, or as exact as you can get it. Blue tacking it into place helps to get an idea of the size and if you need to trim any off.

Step 8) I make it glue o'clock

Step 8) I make it glue o’clock

Cover the whole surface with glueby doo. These seems terrifying. As a lover of wood and all things vintage this felt graffiti

Cover the whole surface with glueby doo. This does seem terrifying. As a lover of wood and all things vintage this felt like graffiti but trust me it will turn out amazingly.

Step 9) The beauty of decopage glue is that it acts not only as an adhesive but as a varnisher and hardener. So once you have stuck your paper in place, go over the top of the paper with lashings of glue. By lashing I don't mean pour a pot on but do at least 4 coats.

Step 9) The beauty of decopage glue is that it acts not only as an adhesive but as a varnisher and hardener. So once you have stuck your paper in place, go over the top of the paper with lashings of glue. By lashing I don’t mean pour a pot on but do at least 4 coats. Wait for them to dry inbetween or the paper will buckle and protest.

And here is the finished product. It is safe to say that I am happy as Larry with the results of my crafty spontaneity. Let it be known that unemployment occasionally has its perks.

And Voila! Finis!

And Voila! Finis!

I have to say I am extremely pleased with how this turned out!

I have to say I am extremely pleased with how this turned out!

Books, books and more books. The perfect surface to write a story upon...

Books, books and more books. The perfect surface to write a story upon…

So go on, get crafty!

x

Leave a Reply

