Week 4: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 14th January 2013

Monday 21st January 2013

 

The Good

Having an excuse to get out of the house. An Interview. An opportunity. Excitement, anticipation, a journey and several butterflies inhabiting my stomach.

 

The Bad

Being cold in the thick, freezing air, ground laden with a white, squeaky covering of snowflakes, all crushed and molded to thousands of hurried, ‘I can’t be late for work’ footprints.

 

The Unexpected

Finding out that Piccadilly Press have an office cat called Toffee. Adorable.

 

Tuesday: 

Tuesday 15th January 2013

Tuesday 22nd January 2013

 

The Good

Speaking to my lovely friend Melissa via Skype. Having a splendid chat with the excitement of seeing each other at the weekend and encouraging each other. I am so blessed to have such amazing friends.

 

The Bad

Becoming addicted to the game Stardom, all over again. I must have wasted hours of the day working on becoming an A-list celebrity.

 

The Unexpected

Winning ‘Best Supporting Actress’, miracles like these just don’t happen everyday.

 

Wednesday:

Wednesday 23rd January 2013

Wednesday 23rd January 2013

 

The Good

Speaking to my lovely friend Hannah. Mainly about boys, the torture of having a crush and God. It was one of those conversations where you lose all track of time and one of those amazing friendships where you pick up exactly where you left off even though months have passed by. I may not have a boyfriend or a job but I have such a rich and wonderful supply of friends whom I love dearly.

 

The Bad

Sitting down to read. But only managing to conquer one sentence. Is the bookworm dying? NEVER!

 

The Unexpected

Going to a Church cell group type thing in the evening and generally having a lovely time. People can be so very kind sometimes. I was proud of being brave enough to go to someones house that I didn’t know, a house I knew would be full of married couples and the terrifying prospect of praying out loud and coming out the other end feeling encouraged and oh so good for knocking on that door. Sometimes Church can be awful, it can be unwelcoming and cliquey but this one is delightful. I love it. It feels like home.

 

Thursday:

Thursday 24th January 2013

Thursday 24th January 2013

 

The Good

Eating a flump in the cold early afternoon air and seeing Sophille and that gorgeous face of hers.

 

The Bad

Pushing a pushchair through the dregs of snow. Talk about a work out.

 

The Unexpected

Eating an orange at midnight and suddenly being struck by inspiration and an insatiable desire to write.

 

Friday:

Friday 25th January 2013

Friday 25th January 2013

 

The Good

Heading to Canterbury, my University town, to go out with my friends to celebrate their graduation. And the prospect of meeting my amazing friend Sarah, who I hadn’t seen for what felt like forever. I couldn’t wait.

 

The Bad

My vest top kept riding up so Zizzi’s saw my delightful belly button when I first took my coat off and my back was cold for the duration of the day. And I didn’t get the internship I was interviewed for on Monday.

 

The Unexpected

Sarah treated me to a lovely meal, despite my protestations that this was too much. Her generosity made me want to cry, I love my friends and can’t wait until I can return their treats when I have a job. We had such a great catch up, it was like no time had passed at all and we made each other laugh all afternoon. Getting an internship offer from Orion. I took it, of course.

 

Saturday:

Saturday 26th January 2013

Saturday 26th January 2013

 

The Good

Waking up in the ‘Hotel, Motel, Holiday Inn’ not remotely hungover from clubbing the night before. Mainly because I only drank two ciders.

 

The Bad

Having to pay £10 for taxi journeys the night before. I certainly wasn’t expecting that much of a charge compared to the usual £3. Life is costly.

 

The Unexpected

Crying on the train home. (I really must stop crying on public transport; it’s becoming a habit  I’m pretty sure I used to be normal. What is wrong with me these days? The one day I’m not wearing waterproof mascara…) Because Canterbury isn’t mine anymore. And I’m tired of having my emotions played with. I’m tired of feeling like a failure. And now there is nothing to go back for in Canterbury and I won’t see some people I met there ever again. Sad but true. Dancing in baa bars or what is now Club Chemistry, lights flashing and the music throbbing, I finally realised that Uni finished at exactly the right time. And as much as I loved it, it is over. As it should be. Canterbury held so much of me, so many experiences both good and bad. My first kiss, heartbreak- yes lots of that- but ample laughter, independence and growing into who I am now. I got baptized there, I learnt there, I was inundated with things to do there. It knew me inside out, I thought I wanted to stay there forever. How wrong was I? I feel as though it has betrayed me, forgotten me. Taken in new and more exciting, promising students to raise and influence. It is done with me. It has thrown me out just as helpless and bewildered as when I first arrived. Stronger of course, so much stronger but still breakable. But I am free now for another place to steal my heart and capture my vaporous dreams.

 

Sunday:

Sunday 27th January 2013

Sunday 27th January 2013

 

The Good

Going to Church. Being inspired and encouraged. Spending the day playing with Sophie and attending a pub quiz with my friends.

 

The Bad

Loosing track of time whilst chatting after Church so I was late picking up my sister, who was far from amused. Did I mention it’s like having two Mum’s these days?

 

The Unexpected

Meeting a rather unpleasant female character in the pub who was outraged that we may have Googled a few answers for the quiz. One of the most vile creatures I have had the displeasure of encountering in a long while.

Leave a Reply

