Week 3: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 14th January 2013

Monday 14th January 2013

 

The Good

Today I let me myself sleep in. Guilt free. Because I had nowhere to be. And no one to see.

 

The Bad 

I felt rubbish for sleeping in. Lazy and headachey.

 

The Unexpected

A lovely long walk to meet the Mother after her first day of her Masters module. Mum chats are the best.

 

Tuesday:

Tuesday 15th January 2013

Tuesday 15th January 2013

 

The Good

Today was the day of Zumba with the sister (Lucy), which is always absolutely hilarious because I cannot dance for toffee. I ended up dancing the wrong way to everyone else which made Lucy and I laugh hysterically, so much so that we may have been frowned at just a few times.

 

The Bad 

It was jolly cold outside in just a track suit.

 

The Unexpected

I made a peanut butter and apple sandwich. I got the idea from pinterest. It was disgusting and I felt sick afterwards. Don’t do it to yourself. I learnt this valuable lesson: apples and peanut butter are delicious separately and should therefore only be consumed separately. Because when combined it tastes like a nappy (or at least what I imagine a nappy would taste like, seeing as I have never ever actually eaten one).

 

Wednesday:

Wednesday 16th January 2013

Wednesday 16th January 2013

The Good

Today my Sister and I finally went to a Mother and Baby group. Not that I’m a Mother or a Baby, I just went along for moral support. It was fun with free tea and many people admired Sophie. One child took a liking to me because I helped her find her peppa pig purse. Once the purse had been located we went swimming, did some shopping, took a quick visit to nursery and made dinner. Oh to be a child again, so much can be accomplished in the space of ten minutes. I saw Les Mis at zeee cinema in the evening. Twas excellent!

 

The Bad 

Our neighbor made us late for the Mother and Baby morning by ambushing us as I pulled up on our drive. She demanded a cuddle with Sophie who proceeded to cry because she was wearing leggings and it was about -25.

 

The Unexpected

Going to Kelsey Park for a lovely walk around the park only to realise how repulsive and intimidating some secondary school children can be. Also DO NOT FEED DUCKS/GEESE WHITE BREAD! It gives them a horrible condition called Angel Wing. A chemical found in white bread, disintegrates the wing muscle causing the feathers to protrude at odd angles. It renders them flightless and therefore causes early death because they cannot escape successfully from predators. Very sad indeed.

 

Thursday:

Thursday 17th January 2013

Thursday 17th January 2013

 

The Good

Heading out for a breath of fresh air and taking all my library books back thus avoiding a penalty fare for usual lateness.

 

The Bad 

Feeling extremely fed up about the job situation, or lack of job. And being annoyed at myself for only reading one of the seven library books I took out especially as I had renewed them three times. This is shameful behavior for a bookworm and English Literature graduate.

 

The Unexpected

Finding Danny Wallace on the library shelves, he caught my eye and I couldn’t deny an afternoon in his company. He then treated me to a Vanilla Spiced Latte too. How kind. Ever the gentlemen.

 

Friday:

Friday 18th January 2013

Friday 18th January 2013

 

The Good

It snowed and I got given an interview for an internship at Piccadilly Press on Monday the 21st of January. A very exciting morning indeed.

 

The Bad 

Going out for a lone walk in the snow with my Mum’s shoe grip things on, that stop you slipping and falling in the snow/ice. She’s a little paranoid as she broke her arm from falling on ice two years ago. Anyway on my way home I noticed that I only had one gripper on so I had to retrace my entire walk to locate the rather expensive piece of accident prevention equipment. I found it. After 5 hours of looking. I jest of course.

 

The Unexpected

Being unexpectedly amazed and literally flabbergasted by the beauty of snowflakes. Each one is intricate, detailed and unique. All these years I have never bothered to stop and look at the intricacies of snow, it is painstakingly beauty and my mind just couldn’t comprehend how these delightful frozen sequins could make it all the way down here from however high they have fallen, completely and perfectly intact. God is outstanding.

 

Saturday:

Saturday 19th January 2013

Saturday 19th January 2013

 

The Good

My whole family clambered into the Land Rover and went off to view a flat for Lucy, Henry and Sophie. It was absolutely perfect for them and we all loved it. Great location and so much more space than they have at the moment. The male estate agent was about my age and extremely handsome so that made the viewing even better. And little Sophie dressed as a teddy bear kept making the cutest noises ever, pretty sure she wants to live there. Watch this space.

 

The Bad

I had an application to complete. On the weekend.

 

The Unexpected

Sophie was wearing little green cords; big girl trousers. I cannot believe how grown up she is getting.

 

Sunday:

Sunday 20th January 2013

Sunday 20th January 2013

 

The Good

Church. Snow. Making cakes. Eating crumpets for tea. Apricot jam. Lashings of tea. Making Sophie smile and laugh. Then falling asleep on me. Skyping my friend from South Africa. Wellies. Snowballs. Sledging.

 

The Bad 

Being nervous about Monday’s interview.

 

The Unexpected

Going sledging with Lucy and Henry. It was an unbelievable amount of fun. We laughed and screamed as we careened down a large snow laden hill in the thick snow. It was cold and wet but fantastic. And after throwing snowballs at each other, Lucy missing us every time, we walked home in a row, cheeks pink and ears cold.

2 thoughts on “Week 3: The good, the bad and the unexpected

  1. Hey, just stumbled across your blog. Figured I would stop by and say that I have enjoyed what I have read so far.

    Anyone who enjoys Danny Wallace is, in my book (if I had one), a good person. So…er…well done for that too!

Leave a Reply

