Week 2: The good, the bad and the unexpected

Monday:

Monday 7th January 2013

Monday 7th January 2013

 

The Good

  • I applied for several publishing internships, feeling freshly encouraged and invigourated from the wonderful weekend.

 

The Bad

  • I had a horrible sore throat and consequently drank too many hot drinks and needed the toilet too many times.

 

The Unexpected

  • Waking up to what sounded like the commencement of fox hunting, only to discover it was my friend texting me to wake up, like I’d asked him to, one letter at a time. I started laughing like an idiot; twas hilarious.

 

Tuesday:

Tuesday 8th January 2013

Tuesday 8th January 2013

 

The Good

  • Today was an extremely productive job application day. And I got that lovely feeling of content satisfaction that I used to get from completing essays and homework.

 

The Bad

  • My computer misbehaved itself frequently. Alas it must be coming to the end of its short little life. Dear Laptop, please don’t die until I have a job. Thank you.

 

The Unexpected

  • Enjoying a delightful mince pie left over from Christmas, whilst sipping a piping hot cup of tea.

 

Wednesday:

Wednesday 9th January 2013

Wednesday 9th January 2013

 

The Good

  •  I had a delightful chat with my bestie from my travel adventures. We are both in the same seemingly hopeless boat, battling against the disappointment of life and trying very hard to keep our heads above water. It was a gorgeous two and a half hour chin wag. I also saw my niecy and sister in the afternoon; a splendid day indeed.

 

The Bad

  •  Being late to my Sister’s. Punctuality is a daily struggle for me. 

 

The Unexpected

  •  Coming home to find that my Dad’s compost bin had arrived. I was chatting away in the kitchen with my Mum when we heard an echoey cry for ‘Help!’ from the hall. We found my Dad stuck inside the compost bin, his explanation was that he was trying to impersonate a Dalek. We helped him out and then I jumped in. Like father like son, or daughter rather. The umbrellas were the finishing touch.

 

Thursday:

Thursday 10th January 2013

Thursday 10th January 2013

 

The Good

  •  I had Clinical Update at work (I have worked in a Hospice for the past few years as a flexible staff member who comes in when they need me, if someone is off sick etc. I used to get loads of shifts i.e 4-6 days a week but recently they have been undergoing refurbishment and are over staffed, so no monies for me.) It was so good to see everyone again and refresh my memory about Health care. It is amazing how much doing something different, can energize the soul.

 

The Bad

  •  Towards 3pm it was hard to stay awake; five hours of lectures certainly takes a toll.

 

The Unexpected

  •  Having to resuscitate a dummy and being used as a model to demonstrate the recovery position.

 

Friday:

Friday 11th January 2013

Friday 11th January 2013

 

The Good

  •  Another day at work, free chocolate and passing an Information Governance test. 90% whoop! Also having drinks with good friends in the evening. I do love cocktails.

 

The Bad

  •  Having a talk about sexual intimacy at the end of life. This was awkward enough without them whacking out a sex quiz and then having to discuss my response to said quiz with the Matron. I wanted to die. Ironic much.

 

The Unexpected

  •  An oxygen cylinder can explode like a bomb if it is dropped or knocked too vigorously  Terrifying as I work with these a lot. Also taking Gray C to the vets for her Mixo booster and meeting quite a young, dishy Vet. My admiration and thoughts of marriage evaporated when he only gave Gray C half her jab and said ‘Oh look, half of its still in there!’, as if his incompetency was amusing. He then proceeded to shove the rest in, randomly selecting a handful of rabbitty flesh and draining the contents of the syringe into her body. My poor baby! Needless to say I was far from impressed, especially as I had to pay £21 for this shocking service  Thank goodness I had three shifts this week, eh?

 

Saturday:

Saturday 12th January 2013

Saturday 12th January 2013

 

The Good

  •  Went to work and did my bit for the dying. I also realized that as much as I love publishing and want a career in it, I have really missed nursing. And I’m quite good at it. I love having a rapport with patients  making them smile and laugh or just holding their hand and acknowledging how unfair it is that they are so ill. I rediscovered that I have huge compassion for people and love doing as much as I can for them.

 

The Bad

  •  Not being able to do as much as nurses; it is frustrating.

 

The Unexpected

  •  Washing a patient, popping out to get her a towel and coming back to find her sitting with a pair of knickers on her head. To which I said ‘I like your hat.’ She laughed and said it was to protect her hair. Old ladies are amazing. 

 

Sunday:

Sunday 13th January 2013

Sunday 13th January 2013

 

The Good

  •  Finding a church that I really love and am excited about going to next week. Paying attention to what was said for the first time in a very long time, rather than getting angry and wanting to leave. I felt immediately at home in a new congregation, everyone was so welcoming and to top it off I got a free doughnut and cup of tea at the end. Sweet. 

 

The Bad

  •  Fighting with pessimism about applying to Penguin for their Marketing Assistant job. But I applied anyway, after re-writing my cover letter about 12 times. Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

 

The Unexpected

  •  Having a laugh with my Dad in Sainsbury’s about our family history and the fruitloops we are related too. Including my Grandma who once through a sewing machine down the stairs in a fit of rage. May she rest in peace, I love you Grandma, Grandma I do. ‘There’s no one quite like Grandma…’ Also receiving my blood donor card in the post and discovering what my blood type is.

 

So there you have it. It appears to have been a more successful and enjoyable week than I had initially thought. Superb.

Ciao,

x

Leave a Reply

