Week 1: The good, the bad and the unexpected

So as resolved, here is the first week of 2013 through the lens; the good, the bad and the unexpected.

Monday:

Monday 31st December 2012

Monday 31st December 2012

The Good

  • Well, it was New Year’s Eve. I spent the day baking cookies at my friends house, reflecting on the joy that was 2012. And spent the eve, surrounded by the best friends a girl could ask for and four dogs, intent upon gifting me with their clingy hairs. We drank, we laughed, we played plenty of games, I attempted to the learn the Gangnam dance and generally got very merry indeed.

 

The Bad

  • I didn’t blog and I had aimed to. A SLAP on the wrist for moi.

 

The Unexpected

  • I fell in love with a dog called Jack, who has the biggest dog-head I have ever seen. He gives superb cuddles.

 

Tuesday:

Tuesday 1st January 2013

Tuesday 1st January 2013

The Good

  • It was the start of a new year and who knows what 2013 holds.

 

The Bad

  • Clearly I got a bit too merry on Monday as today I felt like death warmed up. My head was throbbing and I spent the majority of the early afternoon in a pub, fighting the urge not to be sick and trying to eat at least one of the chips I had purchased. Tequila is not my friend, even the thought of it makes me shiver. Worst headache of the year.

 

The Unexpected

  • I washed my hands and my beloved mustache ring broke. I certainly didn’t see that coming. It was a heartbreaking start to the new year, let me tell you! However counting my change I discovered that I had saved just 9 pence short of eight pounds. I could buy two mustache rings with that, I won’t…but I could.

 

Wednesday:

Wednesday 2nd January 2013

Wednesday 2nd January 2013

The Good

  • Seeing my old housemate, picking her up from Waitrose in the rain and driving to my sister’s house to see my little niecey-poo. She was on top form, squealing and giggling and bouncing away in her new bouncer, Sophie that is. Cuddles all round.

 

The Bad

  • Being unable to find a free parking space and having to cough up some change and pay for a car park. And getting wet in the rain.

 

The Unexpected

  • Realising how fast Sophie is growing up and having my coppers refused as parking payment. ‘No, no’ he said, ‘We don’t take coppers.’ Absurd.

 

Thursday:

Thursday 3rd January 2013

Thursday 3rd January 2013

The Good

  • Giving Blood, even if my veins are rubbish and wouldn’t give the full amount of blood at a speedy enough rate. Being brave, averting my gaze and voluntarily letting a nurse stick quite a large needle into my arm because blood transfusions literally saved my sisters life.

 

The Bad

  • Having all the nurses look at me with dismay, prodding and readjusting the needles position because my veins have and always will be, appalling. It’s always nice to be told this. 

 

The Unexpected

  • The thickness of the needle was surprisingly wider than I had anticipated. Also I didn’t expect to be so upset and disappointed at not being able to give blood properly, it bothered me more than I thought it would. You learn something new everyday.

 

Friday:

Friday 4th January 2013

Friday 4th January 2013

The Good

  • Watching (500) Days of Summer and remembering how very much I love it and how much of a cinematic masterpiece it really is.

 

The Bad

  • Suffering from low morale and severe cabin fever.

 

The Unexpected

  • Too much time on ones hands, is not as ideal as it once sounded.

 

Saturday:

Saturday 5th January 2013

Saturday 5th January 2013

The Good 

  • Spontaneously deciding to go up to London, to shake things up a bit and go on an adventure. To spend the day in my own company, but surrounded by hundreds of other people. Taking photos, exploring, just following my feet. Writing, reading and just sitting on a train, excited by the knowledge that I was going somewhere. Oh and getting on the bus only to be told by the driver that ‘That red lipstick really suits you! It looks very attractive.’ (Yes, I wrote it down, because it made me feel like a balloon, happy and all floaty.)

 

The Bad

  • Having cold hands. But to be honest, there wasn’t really anything bad about this Saturday.

 

The Unexpected

  • My friend acting as an excellent, personal sat nav when I got a little lost, helping me find St James Park; ‘find my friends’ is a hilarious app! And meeting another friend, wandering through Green Park, chatting in Starbucks and generally having a lovely time; short but sweet.

 

Sunday:

Sunday 6th January 2013

Sunday 6th January 2013

The Good

  • Having the most hilarious and spontaneous day with my lovely friends. Randomly deciding to go to Greenwich, jumping on cable cars with our oyster cards, playing a game of carrom in a games shop that is closing down after 17 years, eating too much egg fried rice and sharing free smarties in a shot glass at a bar. It certainly has to be the best day I’ve had in a long time. 

 

The Bad

  • Slicing my nail bed with my camera case. It was my fault entirely which only made it hurt more. 

 

The Unexpected

  • Laughing at a ticket inspector as he made announcements into the inbuilt speakers which looked uncannily like he was making out with the DLR wall. 

 

Well, it’s been a fantastic week and it’s only by doing this that I’ve noticed how fun it’s actually been. Here’s to week two!

x

Leave a Reply

